Consumer Assistance | Energy | Telecom | Warehouse | Commission Actions | Miscellaneous

arrow Commission Minutes| previous page

South Dakota Public Utilities Commission Meeting
February 13, 2012, at 9:00 a.m. CST
Room 464, Capitol Building
Pierre, South Dakota


Chairman Chris Nelson called the meeting to Order. Present were: Commissioner Kristie Fiegen; Commission Counsel: John Smith; Commission Advisor: Greg Rislov; Staff Attorneys: Kara Semmler and Ryan Soye; Staff Analysts: Chris Daugaard and Brian Rounds; and Staff: Demaris Axthelm.

Also present were: Pam Bonrud, NorthWestern Corporation dba NorthWestern Energy.

Joining the meeting by telephone were: Commissioner Gary Hanson; Sara Dannen and Al Brogan, NorthWestern Corporation dba NorthWestern Energy; and Yvette LaFrentz, Doney, Crowley, Payne, Bloomquist P.C., representing Oak Tree Energy LLC.


1.     EL11-006     In the Matter of the Complaint by Oak Tree Energy LLC against NorthWestern Energy for refusing to enter into a Purchase Power Agreement (Staff Analysts: Chris Daugaard, Brian Rounds, Staff Attorneys: Kara Semmler, Ryan Soye)

A lengthy discussion took place regarding whether the Commissioners should hear Oak Tree's Motion to Compel in an expedited fashion and can be found on the PUC website under Commission Actions, Commission Meeting Archives, 2012, February 13, 2012, recording located at:

     Commissioner Hanson moved to deny Oak Tree's Motion. Motion failed 1-2. Chairman Nelson and Commissioner Fiegen dissented.

     Commissioner Nelson moved to grant Oak Tree an expedited hearing. Motion carried 2-1. Commissioner Hanson dissented.

There being no further business, at the hour of 9:32 a.m., the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission meeting adjourned. The next Commission meeting is scheduled for February 14, 2012.


/S/Joy Irving
Joy Irving
Administrative Assistant
PUC Email
February 13, 2012