Consumer Assistance | Energy | Telecom | Warehouse | Commission Actions | Miscellaneous

arrow Commission Minutes | previous page

South Dakota Public Utilities Commission Meeting
Tuesday, June 12, 2007, at 1:30 P.M.
Room 412, State Capitol Building
Pierre, South Dakota


Chairman Dustin Johnson called the meeting to order.  Present were: Commissioner Steve Kolbeck; Commission Advisor Greg Rislov; Commission Attorneys John Smith and Rolayne Wiest; Staff Attorney Kara Van Bockern; Staff Analyst Bob Knadle and Administrative Secretary Demaris Axthelm. 

Also present were: Reed Rasmussen, representing WEB Water Development Association, Inc.; Curt Hohn; Lillian Anderson and Kent Moeckly, landowners; Dave Hausmann, South Dakota Department of Transportation; Brett Koenecke, May, Adam, Gerdes and Thompson, representing TransCanada KeyStone Pipeline, LP; Jeff Rauh, representing KeyStone Pipeline; Paul Lepeska, representing Izaak Walton League of America. 

Joining the meeting by telephone were: Chairman Dustin Johnson; Vice Chairman Gary Hanson; and Jim White, Sidley Law firm, representing TransCanada Keystone Pipeline, LP. 

Hydrocarbon Pipeline  

1.      HP07-001     In the Matter of the Application of TransCanada Keystone Pipeline, LP for a Permit under the South Dakota Energy Conversion and Transmission Facility Act to Construct the Keystone Pipeline Project.  (Staff Analysts:  Martin Bettmann/Bob Knadle/Nathan Solem, Staff Attorney:  Kara Van Bockern)   

         See Transcript online:

       Transcript of June 21, 2007

            The following motions were considered by the Commission. 

Chairman Johnson moved to deny the joint motion of Staff and Applicant to remove all documents filed by Applicant that did not involve South Dakota.  Motion passed 3-0. 

Chairman Johnson moved to remove confidential treatment from and release to the public those documents identified by Applicant in its June 12, 2007 letter to the Commission as non-confidential and available for public release.  Motion passed 3-0. 

Chairman Johnson moved to request TransCanada to advise the Commission by letter on or before 5:00 p.m. on Friday, June 15, 2007, if Applicant is unable to re-file redacted versions of the documents originally filed as confidential by 5:00 p.m., June 15, 2007.  Motion passed 3-0. 

Chairman Johnson moved to grant party status to all persons that have requested party status prior to commencement of this meeting, including Feller, Liberty, Burger, and Burger, but not including Merrill Walters which was received following the beginning of the meeting.  Motion passed 3-0. 

Chairman Johnson moved that the following guidelines will be followed in taking comments at the four public input hearings to be held June 25 – 27:

  • Commenters with brief comments of five minutes or less will be allowed to present their comments first.
  • Commenters shall refrain from reading printed articles or other written materials, but shall instead present such articles or written materials for inclusion in the record.
  • Commenters will be requested not to repeat the same comments at successive hearings to preserve time for others to present their views to the Commission.
  • Landowners will be given preference in presenting comments.
  • TransCanada will limit its introductory presentation to approximately 45 minutes and in no case more than one hour. 

Motion passed 3-0. 

Meeting adjourned. 

Demaris Axthelm
Administrative Secretary