Consumer Assistance | Energy | Telecom | Warehouse | Commission Actions | Miscellaneous

arrow Commission Minutes | previous page

South Dakota Public Utilities Commission Meeting

Monday, January 10, 2005 at 1:30 P.M.

Room 464, State Capitol Building, Pierre, South Dakota




Chairman Bob Sahr called the meeting to order.  Also present were Vice Chairman Gary Hanson;  Executive Director Pamela Bonrud; Deputy Executive Director Heather Forney; Commission Advisor Greg Rislov; Commission Attorneys Rolayne Ailts Wiest and John Smith; Staff Attorneys Karen Cremer and Sara Harens; Staff Analysts Dave Jacobson, Michele Farris, and Harlan Best;  and Administrative Secretary Tina Douglas.  


Joining the meeting by telephone were Commissioner Dustin Johnson; and Colleen Sevold, Qwest Corporation.




1.           EL04-040           In the Matter of the Filing by Otter Tail Power Company for Approval of Tariff Revisions.   (Staff Analyst:  Dave Jacobson,  Staff Attorney:  Sara Harens)


 Mr. Jacobson stated that Otter Tail Power Company (Otter Tail) filed an application for approval to revise its tariffed Summary List of Contracts with Deviations. The existing contract with the City of Clear Lake will expire on January 15, 2005.  Otter Tail states the new agreement does not contain any deviations from Otter Tail's currently filed tariff and therefore requests that reference to a contract with the City of Clear Lake be removed from the Summary List of Contracts with Deviations.   Mr. Jacobson recommends approval of the tariff revisions in EL04-040.


Chairman Sahr moved to approve the tariff revisions in EL04-040.  Commissioner Hanson seconded and Commissioner Johnson concurred. Motion passed 3-0.




1.           Election Of A Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson Of The Commission.   (General Counsel:  John Smith.)


South Dakota Codified Law 49-1-8 states in part that, "The members of the Commission shall elect a chairperson by majority vote and prescribe his duties."   SDCL 49-1-12 requires that, "Every vote and official action of the Public Utilities Commission shall be entered of record and its proceedings shall be public upon the request of either party or any person interested."  Accordingly, the determination of the Commission's leadership structure shall be made at this public meeting.


Chairman Sahr moved to elect Gary Hanson as Chairman.  Commissioner Johnson seconded and Commissioner Hanson concurred. Motion passed 3-0.


Chairman Hanson moved to elect Robert Sahr as Vice-Chairman.  Commissioner Johnson seconded and Commissioner Sahr concurred. Motion passed 3-0.

Meeting adjourned.


Tina Douglas

Administrative Secretary