Consumer Assistance | Energy | Telecom | Warehouse | Commission Actions | Miscellaneous

Previous Agenda Page Commission Agendas | previous page

South Dakota Public Utilities Commission Meeting
May 6, 2008, at 9:30 A.M.
State Capitol Building, Room 464
Pierre, South Dakota

NOTE:  If you wish to join this meeting by conference call, please contact the Commission at 605-773-3201 by 5:00 p.m. on May 5, 2008.  Lines are limited and are given out on first come/first serve basis, subject to possible reassignment to accommodate persons who must appear in a proceeding. Ultimately, if you wish to participate in the Commission Meeting and a line is not available you may have to appear in person.  

NOTE:  To listen to the Commission Meeting live please go to the PUC's Web site and click on the LIVE button on the home page. The Commission requests that persons who will only be listening to proceedings and not actively appearing in a case listen via the web cast to free phone lines for those who have to appear.  The Commission meetings are archived on the PUC's Web site under the Commission Actions tab and then click on the LISTEN button on the page.

NOTE:  Notice is further given to persons with disabilities that this Commission meeting is being held in a physically accessible place.  If you have special needs, please notify the Commission and we will make all necessary arrangements.


Hydrocarbon Pipeline


  1. HP07-001 - South Dakota Energy Conversion and Transmission Facility Act to Construct the Keystone Pipeline Project. (Staff Analysts: Bob Knadle/Nathan Solem, Staff Attorney: Kara Semmler)

              On April 27, 2007, TransCanada Keystone Pipeline, LP, (Keystone) filed a siting permit application for the South Dakota portion of the Keystone Pipeline Project (Project). The Project will transport crude oil starting in Hardisty, Alberta, Canada and ending in Patoka, Illinois.  The proposed 30 inch diameter pipeline will have a nominal capacity of 435,000 barrels of oil per day (bpd) with a possible expansion to 591,000 bpd.  The proposed route will enter South Dakota at the North Dakota/South Dakota border in Marshall County and extend in a southerly direction, exiting the state at the South Dakota/Nebraska border in Yankton County.  The length of the pipeline in South Dakota will be approximately 220 miles and it will cross the counties of Marshall, Day, Clark, Beadle, Kingsbury, Miner, Hanson, McCook, Hutchinson and Yankton.  The Project also includes four pump stations in South Dakota located in Day, Beadle, Miner and Hutchinson counties along with 15 mainline valves with an average spacing of 15 miles between valves.  A scheduling and procedural order was issued at the September 11, 2007, commission meeting. A hearing in this docket was held December 3 – 7, 2007, and December 10 – 11, 2007.  On March 11, 2008, the commission granted a siting permit with certain conditions.  On April 29, 2008, Keystone filed a Motion for Approval of Public Liaison Officer.  A Motion for Approval of Construction Bond was filed by Keystone on April 30, 2008.

         TODAY, shall the Commission Grant the Motion for Approval of Public Liaison Officer?  AND, shall the Commission Grant the Motion for Approval of Construction Bond?


_/S/ Heather Forney_________
Heather K. Forney
Deputy Executive Director
May 2, 2008