Consumer Assistance | Energy | Telecom | Warehouse | Commission Actions | Miscellaneous

arrow  Commission Weekly Filings | previous page

South Dakota Public Utilities Commission

For the Period of April 26, 2007 through May 2, 2007     

Copies of these items may be found on the PUC Web site at


EL07-017        In the Matter of the Joint Request for an Electric Service Territory Boundary Change between Black Hills Power, Inc. and West River Electric Association, Inc. 

On April 30, 2007, West River Electric Association, Inc. (WREA) and Black Hills Power, Inc. (BHP) filed for Commission approval a Service Territory Transfer Agreement between WREA and BHP. BHP and WREA agree to relocate the East-West Service Territory boundary in Section 29, Township 2 North, Range 8 East, Black Hills Meridian, Pennington County, South Dakota.  It is the opinion of both WREA and BHP that this transfer of service area is in the best interests of both parties, as well as in the public interest. 

Staff Analyst: Nathan Solem/Martin Bettmann
Staff Attorney: Karen E. Cremer
Date Filed: 04/30/07
Intervention Deadline: 05/18/07  


HP07-001        In the Matter of the Application of TransCanada Keystone Pipeline, LP for a Permit under the South Dakota Energy Conversion and Transmission Facility Act to Construct the Keystone Pipeline Project.

On April 27, 2007, TransCanada Keystone Pipeline, LP, (Keystone) filed a siting permit application for the South Dakota portion of the Keystone Pipeline Project (Project). The Project will transport crude oil starting in Hardisty, Alberta, Canada and ending in Patoka, Illinois.  The proposed 30 inch diameter pipeline will have a nominal capacity of 435,000 barrels of oil per day (bpd) with a possible expansion to 591,000 bpd.  The proposed route will enter South Dakota at the North Dakota/South Dakota border in Marshall County and extend in a southerly direction, exiting the state at the South Dakota/Nebraska border in Yankton County.  The length of the pipeline in South Dakota will be approximately 220 miles and it will cross the counties of Marshall, Day, Clark, Beadle, Kingsbury, Miner, Hanson, McCook, Hutchinson and Yankton.  The Project also includes four pump stations in South Dakota located in Day, Beadle, Miner and Hutchinson counties along with 15 mainline valves with an average spacing of 15 miles between valves.

Staff Analyst: Martin Bettmann/Bob Knadle/Nathan Solem
Staff Attorney: Kara Van Bockern
Date Filed: 04/27/07
Intervention Deadline: 06/26/07

 You may receive this listing and other PUC publications via our Web site
or via internet e-mail.

You may subscribe or unsubscribe to the PUC mailing lists at