News | previous page
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
South Dakota Public Utilities Commission
Contact: Bonnie Bjork Phone Number: 605-773-3201
Date: July 2, 2003
35,000 SOUTH DAKOTANS HAVE SIGNED UP FOR THE DO-NOT-CALL REGISTER
Over 35,000 South Dakota consumers have signed up for the Do-Not-Call Register in the first four days that registration has been available. Registration for the Do-Not-Call Register began on Friday, June 27th.
"The response has been tremendous, " said PUC Chairman Bob Sahr. "We're going to work hard to make sure every South Dakotan who wants relief from telemarketing calls gets registered."
"Telephone solicitors will have until October to delete these telephone numbers from their marketing lists. We encourage consumers to register their phone numbers before August 31st to be included in the initial sign-up list that will be accessed by the telephone solicitors." adds PUC Vice Chairman Gary Hanson.
Sign-up is free. Consumers have two ways of registering their home telephone and personal cell phone numbers. One, they can call a toll free number, 1-888-382-1222, from the home or personal cell phones that they are registering. Two, they can register via the Internet at www.donotcall.gov. Through the Internet site, consumers can register both their home phone and personal cell phone numbers.
According to the Federal Trade Commission, 85 percent of the registrations have occurred online--a process that requires consumers to confirm and complete their registrations by clicking on their Do-Not-Call confirmation e-mail. "To complete the on-line registration, you need to respond to the e-mail from the FTC." said Commissioner Jim Burg. " If you have not received a confirmation e-mail from the FTC, you may need to re-register."
Because the PUC and the Federal Trade Commission have teamed together on the Do Not Call List, South Dakota consumers can register just once to be covered by both the national and statewide Do Not Call lists.
Details about the program, including answers to frequently asked questions are available at a PUC Web site: www.sddonotcall.com. If you have difficulties registering, please contact the PUC at 1-800-332-1782.
After the initial sign up period, telemarketers will have to obtain a copy of the register and then can not call telephone numbers on the list. It is expected that telemarketing calls will decrease beginning in October. Companies who call consumers after that date will be subject to a fine of up to $5,000 per violation. South Dakotans will be able to register complaints with the South Dakota PUC.