Who can store grain for hire?

Any state licensed or federally licensed grain

warehouse may store grain.

How are grain warehouse
licenses obtained?

To obtain a State Warehouse License,
individuals, partnerships, corporations, etc. must
submit a completed grain warehouse application,
required fees, a grain warehouse bond in the
minimum amount of $25,000 at any one
municipality or location or 50% of the value of
stored grain, whichever is greater, and a financial
statement for the most recent completed year of
operation to the South Dakota Public Utilities
Commission Grain Warehouse Division. The
Commission will then issue the license if the
applicant meets all the requirements. The
Commission requires monthly grain reports to be
filed to provide evidence that the warehouseman
is keeping 50% of the value of the stored grain
covered by bond. The Commission also has
inspectors that perform inspections at each
warehouse annually.

To obtain a Federal Warehouse License, the
USDA in Kansas City, MO must be contacted for
their procedures and application.

State licensed facilities may also have an UGRSA
agreement from the USDA at no extra charge.
The UGRSA agreement allows the facility to
store government loaned grain.

What happens if my grain
spoils while it is stored in a
state licensed warehouse?

According to South Dakota law, the
warehouseman must redeliver, to the owner,
grain of the same grade, kind, and quality as
was delivered to the warehouseman. The risk

of spoilage is with the warehouseman.

Things to remember:

Only state or federally licensed grain
warehouses are licensed and bonded to
store your grain.

Always obtain a warehouse receipt within
30 days of delivery if you want to store
your grain.

Deferred-Payment, Delayed-Pricing and
other Voluntary Credit Sale Contracts are
not storage agreements and are not
protected by South Dakota statutory

bond coverages. If a warehouseman/
grain dealer fails you may incur a loss of
the entire amount of the
contract.
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What is stored grain?

Stored grain is any grain that is in grain bank or on warehouse receipt. Grain that is sold or on a
Deferred-Payment, Delayed-Price or any other Voluntary Credit Sale Contract is not considered to be

stored.

What is grain bank?

Grain bank is grain placed in storage to be withdrawn and processed into feed as needed. Generally,

only a ledger is kept by the warehouseman tracking the grain the owner has in grain bank.

What is a warehouse receipt?

A warehouse receipt is a negotiable document, much like a check, showing the owner has clear title to
the grain in storage at the grain warehouse. When endorsed, it can be transferred to another. Many

farmers use the receipt to obtain loans from the FSA or their bank.

When is a warehouse receipt issued?

A warehouse receipt is issued if the owner of the grain decides to place the grain in storage. The
longer the owner of the grain waits to have a warehouse receipt issued, the greater the risk he
assumes of not having evidence of clear title to the stored grain. The scale ticket should be
presented to the issuing public grain warehouse licensee within 30 days of the date of issue for
conversion to a uniform warehouse receipt, cash, check or other grain purchase contract. Offers of

free storage without a warehouse receipt may subject you to a loss if a failure occurs.

Why should a warehouse receipt be issued?

The warehouse receipt serves as documentation that the owner of grain has grain in storage and has
clear title to this grain. The warehouse receipt is a negotiable instrument which can be endorsed for
transfer. In comparison, the scale ticket merely shows that grain was delivered to the warehouse.
The warehouse receipt is the documentation which will insure a claim against the elevator’'s warehouse

bond if the need arises.

When and how does a
person file a claim
against a warehouse?

Upon revocation of a license the PUC
will make a determination of those
who, according to the warehouseman’s
records, may have claims against the
warehouse. The parties are notified
of how and when they are required to

file a claim in writing with the PUC.

An official notice will be published in
newspapers alerting those who do not
receive direct notice of the time
limitations for filing claims. The PUC
will petition the state circuit court in
the county in which the warehouseman

operates to be appointed receiver.



