## OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

IN THE MATTER OF THE FILING BY CITY OF BROOKINGS TELEPHONE COMPANY D/B/A SWIFTEL COMMUNICATIONS FOR APPROVAL OF ITS REVISED SERVICE TERRITORY AS A RESULT OF ANNEXATION

ORDER APPROVING
REVISED SERVICE
TERRITORY AS A RESULT
OF ANNEXATION
TC00-074

On April 21, 2000, the Public Utilities Commission (Commission) received a filing by the City of Brookings Telephone Company d/b/a Swiftel Communications (Swiftel) to revise its franchise service territory map to reflect the new telephone service territory resulting from an annexation by the City of Brookings. The annexation described in Brookings City Resolution Nos. 15-00, 53-99, and 64-97 are as follows:

Resolution No. 15-00

the South East Quarter (SE1/4) of the North East Quarter (NE 1/4) of Section 34-T110N-R50W.

Resolution No. 53-99

Outlot 5 in the SE1/4 of Section 15-T110N-R50W all in the County of Brookings, South Dakota.

Resolution No. 64-97

Blocks 4, 5, and 6, Freeland Addition in the SE1/4 of Section 18-T110N-R49W.

On May 25, 2000, the Commission received a letter from Interstate Telecommunications Cooperative, Inc., stating it concurred with the revised service territory map.

The Commission has jurisdiction in this matter pursuant to SDCL Chapter 49-31. No parties filed to intervene or comment by May 12, 2000. Upon review of the application to change the boundary to reflect areas annexed to the City of Brookings as described above, the Commission concludes that the proposed boundary change is in the public interest and should be approved. As the Commission's final decision in this matter, it is therefore

ORDERED, that the revised service territory shall be approved.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this 28th day of June, 2000.

## CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned hereby certifies that this document has been served today upon all parties of record in this docket, as listed on the docket service list, by facsimile or by first class mall, in properly addressed envelopes, with charges prepaid thereon.

Datas

(OFFICIAL SEAL)

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

JAMES A. BURG, Chairman

PAM NELSON, Commissioner

LASKA SCHOENFELDER, Commissioner