BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

IN THE MATTER OF THE FILING BY FORTORDER APPROVINGRANDALL TELEPHONE COMPANY ANDREVISED TARIFF PAGESMOUNT RUSHMORE TELEPHONE COMPANYTO ESTABLISH SWITCHED ACCESS RATESTO ESTABLISH SWITCHED ACCESS RATESTC99-054

On May 3, 1999, Fort Randall Telephone Company and Mount Rushmore Telephone Company (Fort Randall/Mount Rushmore) filed for approval by the Public Utilities Commission (Commission) its 1998 Intrastate Switched Access Cost Study. On June 10, 1999, Fort Randall/Mount Rushmore filed its revised Cost Study. On May 6, 1999, the Commission electronically transmitted notice of the filing and the intervention deadline of May 21, 1999, to interested individuals and entities. On July 13, 1999, the Commission voted to assess a filing fee as requested by the Executive Director up to the statutory limit of \$100,000. At its January 6, 2000, meeting, the Commission approved Fort Randall/Mount Rushmore's revenue requirement and minutes of use, as revised.

On January 27, 2000, Fort Randall/Mount Rushmore filed its Switched Access Tariff pages to reflect the rates approved by the Commission on January 6, 2000. Rates for Data Base Query were added to the tariff sheets as they had been inadvertently omitted in the previous filing. Fort Randall/Mount Rushmore requested approval of the revised tariff pages.

On February 15, 2000, the Commission considered this matter. Commission Staff recommended approval.

The Commission has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to SDCL 1-26-17.1, 49-1A-9, 49-31-12.4, 49-31-12.6, 49-31-18, 49-31-19 and ARSD 20:10:01:15.02, 20:10:01:15.05, 20:10:27:07 and 20:10:27:08. Upon review of Fort Randall/Mount Rushmore's filing, the Commission found that the revised tariff pages should be approved. As the Commission's final decision in this matter, it is therefore

ORDERED, that the revised tariff pages should be approved.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this 23 1 day of February, 2000.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

a. Burg Chairn

PAM NELSON, Commissioner

LASKA SCHOËNFELDER, Commissioner