## BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

IN THE MATTER OF THE FILING BY ) ORDER APPROVING TARIFF NORTHWESTERN ENERGY FOR APPROVAL ) REVISIONS OF TARIFF REVISIONS ) NG03-004

On August 27, 2003, the Public Utilities Commission (Commission) received a filing from NorthWestern Energy (NWE) for approval of revisions to its 7th Revised Sheet No. 6.2 of Section No. 5 of NWE's filed Natural Gas Tariff. According to the filing, "This filing is made to comply with the fuel retention provisions of Paragraph 7 of the Gas Transportation Tariff General Terms and Conditions. Those provisions call for the retention percentage for NWE's South Dakota distribution system to be adjusted annually, to be effective October 1, based on the actual percentage incurred by NWE for the prior 12 month period ending July 31. The new fuel retention percentage proposed to be effective October 1, 2003 is 0.89%. This is a decrease of 0.19% from the currently effective retention percentage of 1.08%."

The proposed revised tariff is Section No. 5, 8th Revised Sheet No. 6.2, Cancelling 7th Revised Sheet No. 6.2.

At its regularly scheduled meeting on October 16, 2003, the Commission considered this matter. Commission Staff recommended approval.

The Commission finds that it has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to SDCL 49-34A-4 and 49-34A-6. The Commission further finds that the filing is just and reasonable and shall be approved. As the Commission's final decision in this matter, it is therefore

ORDERED, that the above mentioned proposed tariff is approved and is effective for service rendered on and after October 1, 2003.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this 28th day of October, 2003.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
The undersigned hereby certifies that this document has been served today upon all parties of record in this docket, as listed on the docket service list, by facsimile or by first class mail, in properly addressed envelopes, with charges prepaid thereon.  By:
Date: 10/29/03
(OFFICIAL SEAL)

F

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

ROBERT K. SAHR, Chairman

GARY HANSON, Commissioner

JAMES A. BURG, Commissioner