BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

IN THE MATTER OF THE PETITION OF OTTER TAIL POWER COMPANY TO ESTABLISH AN ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COST RECOVERY TARIFF

ORDER ASSESSING FILING FEE

EL12-027

On March 30, 2012, the Public Utilities Commission (Commission) received an application by Otter Tail Power Company (Otter Tail) for approval of an Environmental Quality Cost Recovery Tariff. The purpose of this request is to begin the recovery of the costs of the required environmental retrofit to the Big Stone generating station. Otter Tail anticipates that the rate impact of this request will be approximately two percent on average in the first year of the rider. Once the construction is complete in 2016, Otter Tail estimates the rate impact will be approximately 15 percent. Otter Tail proposes an October 1, 2012, effective date.

On April 5, 2012, the Commission electronically transmitted notice of the filing and the intervention deadline of April 23, 2012, to interested individuals and entities.

SDCL 49-1A-8 authorizes the Commission to require a deposit of up to fifty thousand dollars (\$50,000) in the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission's (SDPUC) regulatory assessment fee fund to defray Commission expenses incident to analyzing and ruling upon this type of filing. The Commission has jurisdiction in this matter pursuant to SDCL Chapters 1-26, 49-1A and 49-34A.

At its regularly scheduled meeting on April 10, 2012, the Commission considered this matter. The Commission voted unanimously that pursuant to SDCL 49-1A-8, Otter Tail shall be assessed a filing fee as requested by Commission Staff up to the statutory limit of \$50,000.00. It is therefore

ORDERED, that Otter Tail shall be assessed a filing fee not to exceed \$50,000.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this <u>134</u> day of April, 2012.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
The undersigned hereby certifies that this document has been served today upon all parties of record in this docket, as listed on the docket service list, electronically. By:
(OFFICIAL SEAL)

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

CHRIS NELSON, Chairman

KRISTIE FIEGEN, Commissioner

GARY HANSON, Commissioner