

Chris Nelson, Chairman Kristie Fiegen, Vice Chairperson Gary Hanson, Commissioner

September 27, 2021

Marlene H. Dortch Office of the Secretary Federal Communications Commission 445 12<sup>th</sup> Street, SW Washington, DC 20554

USAC Vice President, High Cost 700 12<sup>th</sup> Street, NW, Suite 900 Washington, DC 20005



PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 500 East Capitol Avenue Pierre, South Dakota 57501-5070 www.puc.sd.gov (605) 773-3201

Consumer Hotline 1-800-332-1782

Email puc@state.sd.us

Re: CC Docket No. 96-45/WC Docket No. 14-58, Annual State Certification of Support for Eligible Telecommunications Carriers Pursuant to 47 C.F.R. § 54.314

Pursuant to the requirements of 47 C.F.R. § 54.314, the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission (SDPUC) hereby certifies to the Federal Communications Commission and the Universal Service Administrative Company that the telecommunications carriers included on the attached list are eligible to receive federal high-cost support for the program years cited.

The SDPUC certifies for the carriers listed that all federal high-cost program support provided to such carriers within South Dakota was used in the preceding calendar year (2020) and will be used in the coming calendar year (2022) only for the provision, maintenance, and upgrading of facilities and services for which the support is intended.<sup>1</sup> A list of the certified carriers is attached. SAC 399009 correctly used federal high-cost support for preceding calendar year (2020) but will not receive support in the coming calendar year (2022).

Check x if list of certified carriers is attached.

Sincerely.

Chris Nelson

Contact phone# 605-773-3201

Hanson

Gary Hanson

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> 47 C.F.R. § 54.314(a) ("<u>Certification</u>. States that desire eligible telecommunications carriers to receive support pursuant to the highcost program must file an annual certification with the Administrator and the Commission stating that all federal high-cost support provided to such carriers within that State was used in the preceding calendar year and will be used in the coming calendar year only for the provision, maintenance, and upgrading of facilities and services for which the support is intended. High-cost support shall only be provided to the extent that the State has filed the requisite certification pursuant to this section.").

Dated: September 27, 2021

The South Dakota Public Utilities Commission (SDPUC) granted certification to the following rural incumbent local exchange carriers:

Alliance Communications Cooperative, Inc. (includes Baltic Telecom Coop. Study Area 391642; Splitrock Telecom Study Area 391657; and Hills Telephone Company, Inc. Study Area 391405) Beresford Municipal Telephone Company (Study Area 391649) Chevenne River Sioux Tribe Telephone Authority (Study Area 391647) City of Brookings Municipal Telephone (Study Area 391650) City of Faith Municipal Telephone Company (Study Area 391653) Clarity Telecom, LLC dba Vast Broadband (Study Area 391652) Farmers Mutual Telephone Company (Study Area 361389) Fort Randall Telephone Company (Study Area 391660) Golden West Telecommunications Cooperative, Inc. (includes Armour Study Area 391640; Golden West Study Area 391659; Kadoka Study Area 391667; Sioux Valley Study Area 391677; Union Study Area 391684; and Vivian Study Area 391686) Interstate Telecommunications Cooperative, Inc. (Study Area 391654) James Valley Cooperative Telephone Company (Study Area 391664) Jefferson Telephone Company, LLC (Study Area 391666) Kennebec Telephone Company, Inc. (Study Area 391668) Midstate Communications, Inc. (Study Area 391670) Northeast Nebraska Telephone Company (Study Area 371576) Red River Rural Telephone Association (Study Area 381631) RC Technologies (Study Area 391674) RT Communications, Inc. (dba Range) (Study Area 512251) Santel Communications Cooperative, Inc. (Study Area 391676) TrioTel Communications, Inc. (includes Tri-County Study Area 391682 and McCook Study Area 391669) Valley Telecommunications Cooperative Association, Inc. (Study Area 391685) Valley Telephone Company (Study Area 361495) Venture Communications Cooperative (Study Area 391680) West River Cooperative Telephone Company (Study Area 391689) West River Telecommunications Cooperative (Mobridge) (Study Area 391671) The SDPUC granted certification to the following non-rural incumbent local exchange carrier:

Qwest Corporation d/b/a CenturyLink QC (non-rural incumbent LEC) (Study Area 395145)

The SDPUC granted certification to the following competitive eligible telecommunications carriers designated as ETCs in non-rural service areas:

Clarity Telecom, LLC dba Vast Broadband (competitive ETC) (Study Area 399006) Interstate Telecommunications Cooperative, Inc. f/k/a SSTELECOM, Inc. (competitive ETC) (Study Area 399013)

Midcontinent Communications (competitive ETC) (Study Area 399005)

Midstate Communications, Inc. (competitive ETC) (Study Area 399011)

Northern Valley Communications, LLC (competitive ETC) (Study Area 399017)

Northern Valley Communications, LLC (competitive ETC) (Study Area 396340)

The SDPUC granted certification to the following competitive eligible telecommunications carriers designated as ETCs in both non-rural service areas and rural service areas:

Brookings Municipal Telephone d/b/a Swiftel Communications (competitive ETC) (Study Area 399009) James Valley Wireless, LLC (competitive ETC) (Study Area 399014)