

Dustin Johnson, Chair Steve Kolbeck, Vice Chair Gary Hanson, Commissioner

SOUTH DAKOTA PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

500 East Capitol Avenue Pierre, South Dakota 57501-5070 www.puc.sd.gov Capitol Office (605) 773-3201 1-866-757-6031 fax

Warehouse (605) 773-5280 (605) 773-3225 fax

Consumer Hotline 1-800-332-1782

September 24, 2010

Ms. Marlene H. Dortch Office of the Secretary Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street S.W., Room TW-A306 Washington, DC 20554

Ms. Karen Majcher Vice President, High Cost and Low Income Division Universal Service Administrative Company 2000 L Street N.W., Suite 200 Washington, DC 20036

Re: Certification of Support for Rural and Non-Rural High-Cost Carriers Pursuant to 47 C.F.R. Sections 54.313-314, CC Docket Nos. 96-45 and 00-256

Dear Ms. Dortch and Ms. Majcher:

The South Dakota Public Utilities Commission (SDPUC) hereby certifies that all federal high cost support provided to rural and non-rural carriers in this state will be used only for the provision, maintenance and upgrading of facilities and services for which the support is intended, consistent with section 254(e) of the Communications Act of 1934, as amended. This includes High Cost Loop (HCL) support, Local Switching Support (LSS), High Cost Model (HCM) support, and high cost support received pursuant to the purchase of exchanges.

Attached are lists of rural and non-rural carriers certified by the SDPUC pursuant to sections 54.313 and 54.314 of the FCC's rules (47 C.F.R. §§ 54.313, 54.314), which require states to establish an annual certification process for rural and non-rural carriers receiving federal high cost support. As requested by the Universal Service Administrative Company, listed beside each carrier is its assigned study area code (SAC), if known.

Sincerely,

Just on from

Dustin M. Johnson Chairman

Steve Kolleck

Steve Kolbeck Commissioner

Sang Hanson

Gary Hanson Commissioner

The Commission has granted certification to the following rural incumbent local exchange carriers:

Alliance Communications Cooperative, Inc. (391642) Beresford Municipal Telephone Company (391649) Chevenne River Sioux Tribe Telephone Authority (391647) Citizens Telecommunications Company of Minnesota, LLC (361123) City of Brookings Municipal Telephone Department (391650) City of Faith Municipal Telephone Company (391653) Farmers Mutual Telephone Company (361389) Fort Randall Telephone Company (391660) Golden West Telecommunications Cooperative, Inc. (includes Armour Study Area 391640; Golden West Study Area 391659; Kadoka Study Area 391667; Sioux Valley Study Area 391677; Union Study Area 391684; and Vivian Study Area 391686) Hills Telephone Company, Inc. (391405) Interstate Telecommunications Cooperative, Inc. (391654) James Valley Cooperative Telephone Company (391664) Jefferson Telephone Company (391666) Kennebec Telephone Company (391668) Knology Community Telephone, Inc. f/k/a PrairieWave Community Telephone, Inc. (391652) (SPIN # 143002229) McCook Cooperative Telephone Company, n/k/a TrioTel Communications (391669) Midstate Communications, Inc. (391670) Red River Rural Telephone Association (381631) Roberts County Telephone Cooperative Association and RC Communications, Inc. (391674) RT Communications, Inc. (512251) Santel Communications Cooperative, Inc. (391676) Splitrock Properties, Inc. (391657) Stockholm-Strandburg Telephone Company d/b/a ITC (391679) Tri-County Telcom, Inc., n/k/a TrioTel Communications, Inc. (391682) Valley Telecommunications Cooperative Association, Inc. (391685) Valley Telephone Company (361495) Venture Communications Cooperative (391680) Western Telephone Company (391688) West River Cooperative Telephone Company (391689) West River Telecommunications Cooperative (Mobridge) (391671)

The Commission has granted certification to the following non-rural incumbent local exchange carriers:

Qwest Corporation (non-rural incumbent LEC) (395145)

The Commission has granted certification to the following competitive eligible telecommunications carriers designated as ETCs in non-rural service areas:

Knology of the Black Hills, LLC (competitive ETC) (399006) Midcontinent Communications (competitive ETC) (399005) Midstate Telecom, Inc. (competitive ETC) (399011) Northern Valley Communications, LLC (competitive ETC) (399017) RC Communications, Inc. d/b/a RC Services (competitive ETC) (399010) SSTELECOM, Inc., d/b/a ITC (competitive ETC) (399013)

The Commission has granted certification to the following competitive eligible telecommunications carriers designated as ETCs in both non-rural service areas and rural service areas:

Brookings Municipal Telephone d/b/a Swiftel Communications (competitive ETC) (399009) James Valley Wireless, LLC (competitive ETC) (399014) Long Lines Wireless, LLC (competitive ETC) (399016) RCC Minnesota, Inc. (competitive ETC) (399003)