Perkins County Board of Commissioners Perkins County 100 East Main Street PO Box 126 Bison, SD 57620

## RECEIVED

JUL 17 2023

SOUTH DAKOTA PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

July 11, 2023

South Dakota Public Utilities Commission Commissioner Kristi Feigen Commissioner Chris Nelson Commissioner Gary Hansen 500 East Capitol Ave Pierre, SD 57501

Re: Docket #HP22-001 (Summit Carbon Solutions)

Perkins County Commissioners wish to express opposition to the use of eminent domain for private gain in the state of S.D. by Summit Carbon Solutions proposed CO<sub>2</sub> pipeline running through five counties in South Dakota: Brookings, Lincoln, Moody, Minnehaha, and Turner.

While Perkins County is not directly affected by the proposed pipeline project, we express support for affected South Dakota counties and their county commissioners, some of whom are being sued by Summit for exercising their full legal authority to route and cite the CO<sub>2</sub> pipelines via setbacks and ordinances, as well as for passing moratoriums to study the proposed project and protect their citizens.

We also oppose the recent farmland condemnation proceedings which have currently been filed on South Dakota farm families. This is unconstitutional and should not be happening in South Dakota. We value and respect our God-given, constitutional right to "life, liberty, and property." This must be protected and preserved above any law or decree. We owe it to our constituents to keep our constitutional oaths to preserve our freedoms and liberties. Therefore, we oppose granting a permit to these private companies.

Sincerely,

The Carill

Kyle Carmichael Perkins County Chairman

CC: South Dakota Association of County Commissioners South Dakota Governor, Kristi Noem South Dakota Lieutenant Governor, Larry Rhoden South Dakota Attorney General, Marty Jackley

County Commissioners for the counties currently affected by the pipelines (Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Clark, Codington, Edmunds, Hamlin, Hand, Hyde, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Miner, McPherson, Minnehaha, Moody, Spink, Sully, and Turner)