BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

}

)

)

)

IN THE MATTER OF THE FILING BY BLACK HILLS POWER, INC. DBA BLACK HILLS ENERGY REGARDING ITS NOTIFICATION OF INTENT TO APPLY FOR A PERMIT FOR AN ENERGY CONVERSION FACILITY FOR THE PROPOSED LANGE 2 POWER PLANT PROJECT ORDER DESIGNATING AFFECTED AREA AND DESIGNATING LOCAL REVIEW COMMITTEE

EL24-026

On August 2, 2024, the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission (Commission) received a Notice of Intent to submit an application for a permit for an energy conversion facility from Black Hills Power, Inc. dba Black Hills Energy (Black Hills). Black Hills proposes to construct, own and operate an energy conversion facility consisting of three reciprocating internal combustion engines fueled by natural gas only and three dual fuel reciprocating internal combustion engines, an engine hall building, and other associated facilities. Interconnection will be into the existing adjacent Lange substation, which is owned and operated by Black Hills Power. The expected generation is approximately 100 megawatts of power during periods of high energy demand. The energy conversion facility, known as Lange 2 Power Plant, is proposed to be located in the NW ¼ less Lot H1 of Section 22, Township 2N, Range 7E in Pennington County, South Dakota, within the city of Rapid City. SDCL 49-41B-5 requires an applicant for an energy conversion facility permit to file a Notice of Intent six months prior to filing an application for a permit. Therefore, the permit application will be a separate, future docket.

On August 8, 2024, the Commission electronically transmitted notice of the filing and the intervention deadline of August 23, 2024, to interested persons and entities on the Commission's PUC Weekly Filings electronic listserv. As of the date of this order, no petitions to intervene have been filed. On August 21, 2024, PUC Staff filed a letter regarding designation of Affected Area and exhibits.

The Commission has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to SDCL Chapter 49-41B, specifically SDCL 49-41B-5 and 49-41B-6, as well as ARSD 20:10:22:02. Pursuant to SDCL 49-41B-6, the Commission is required to designate the affected area relative to this filing and also designate a local review committee within thirty days after the filing of the notification of intent.

At its regularly scheduled meeting on August 27, 2024, the Commission considered this matter. The Commission voted unanimously to designate the affected area as a five-mile radius from the proposed energy conversion facility. In accordance with SDCL 49-41B-6, the Commission voted unanimously to designate the local review committee which shall be compromised of the following individuals, ex officio:

 Affected South Dakota Counties (Chair of County Commissioners) 	Pennington Meade
(2) Affected SD Municipalities	Rapid City
(Mayor)	Summerset

(3) Affected SD School Districts (President of Board of Education) Rapid City 51-4 Douglas 51-1 Meade 46-1

(4) A representative of Black Hills

Any person on the committee who ceases to hold such office or appointment shall be replaced on the committee by its successor, who shall promptly notify the Commission of such succession. It is therefore

ORDERED, that for the purpose of this energy conversion facility, the affected area shall be a five-mile radius from the proposed energy conversion facility. It is further

ORDERED, that the local review committee shall be compromised of the above referenced individuals, serving ex officio, and that any person on the committee who ceases to hold such office or appointment shall be replaced on the committee by his or her successor, who shall promptly notify the Commission of such succession.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this 2014 day of August 2024.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
The undersigned hereby certifies that this document has been served today upon all parties of record in this docket, as listed on the docket service list, electronically or by mail.
By: <u>Loister Awards</u> Date: <u>29 August</u> 303.4
U

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

KRISTIE FIE Chairbersor

GARY HANSON Commissioner

CHRIS NELSON, Commissioner