## BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

| IN THE MATTER OF THE FILING BY MONTANA-   | ) | ORDER DENYING           |
|---|---|-------------------------|
| DAKOTA UTILITIES CO., A SUBSIDIARY OF MDU | ) | <b>TARIFF REVISIONS</b> |
| RESOURCES GROUP INC., FOR APPROVAL TO     | ) |                         |
| REVISE RESIDENTIAL ELECTRIC DUAL FUEL     | ) |                         |
| SPACE HEATING SERVICE RATE 53             | ĵ | EL22-014                |

On June 15, 2022, the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission (Commission) received a filing from Montana-Dakota Utilities Co., a Subsidiary of MDU Resources Group Inc. (MDU) for revisions to the Residential Dual Fuel Space Heating Service (Rate 53). MDU proposes to remove three provisions relating to interruption of service from the Rate 53 tariff. MDU currently has 262 customers on Rate 53.

The proposed revised tariff sheet is as follows:

South Dakota Electric Tariff Schedule No. 2

Section No. 3

1st Revised Sheet No. 24.1

Canceling Original Sheet No. 24.1

On June 16, 2022, the Commission electronically transmitted notice of the filing and the intervention deadline of July 1, 2022, to interested entities and persons on the Commission's PUC Weekly Filings electronic listserv. No petitions to intervene or comments were filed. On July 12, 2022, MDU responded to staff's data request. On July 29, 2022, MDU filed revised responses to staff's data request. On September 21, 2022, PUC Staff filed a memorandum.

The Commission has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to SDCL Chapter 49-34A, specifically 49-34A-4, 49-34A-6, 49-34A-8, and 49-34A-10.

At its regularly scheduled meeting on September 27, 2022, the Commission considered this matter. After hearing arguments from MDU and Commission staff, the Commission voted 2-1 to deny the tariff revisions, Commissioner Nelson dissenting.

ORDERED, that MDU's request to revise its aforementioned tariff page is hereby denied.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this 29th day of September 2022.

## 

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

CHRIS NELSON, Commissioner (Dissenting)

KRISTIE FIEGEN, Commissioner

GARY HANSON, Commissioner