OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

IN THE MATTER OF THE APPLICATION BY SCS)	ORDER GRANTING PARTY
CARBON TRANSPORT LLC FOR A PERMIT TO				j	STATUS APPLICATIONS
CONSTRUCT	Α	CARBON	DIOXIDE	j	
TRANSMISSION PIPELINE				ĺ	HP24-001
				ĺ	

On November 19, 2024, the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission (Commission) received an Application for a Permit to Construct a Carbon Dioxide Transmission Pipeline (Application) from SCS Carbon Transport LLC (Summit or Applicant), a limited liability company owned by Summit Carbon Solutions, LLC. Applicant proposes to construct and operate a carbon dioxide (CO2) transmission pipeline (Project). The Project, which has been named the Midwest Carbon Express pipeline, is approximately 2,500 miles of pipelines for the transportation of CO2 from ethanol plants across five states to underground injection wells in North Dakota. The South Dakota portion of the Project, is approximately 698 miles, crossing 23 counties. The Commission held public input meetings on the Application at six locations in proximity to the route on January 15-17, 2025. Applications for Party Status were due by January 24, 2025.

On November 21, 2024, the Commission issued a Notice of Application; Order for and Notice of Public Input Meeting; Notice of Opportunity to Apply for Party Status and electronically transmitted notice of the filing and the intervention deadline of January 24, 2025, to interested individuals and entities on the Commission's PUC Weekly Filings electronic listserv. The Commission has received Applications for Party Status from a number of persons, including governmental entities. This Commission has previously issued orders granting Party Status Applications on December 20, 2024, and January 23, 2024.

The Commission has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to SDCL Chapters 1-26 and 49-41B, specifically 49-41B-17, and ARSD Chapter 20:10:22.

At its regularly scheduled meeting on January 28, 2025, the Commission considered all pending Applications for Party Status filed on or before January 21, 2025. Finding that sufficient interest had been demonstrated, the Commission voted unanimously to grant party status to those individuals and entities for whom Staff recommended approval in Staff's January 24 and January 27, 2025 filings, with certain exceptions listed by Commissioner Nelson, and with the addition of Jared Bossly, Brad Fischbach, Lance Fischbach, Linda Hansen, and Larry Hansen.

The Commission voted to defer action on Party Status Applications, received on or before January 21, 2025, for individuals not included in Attachment A to this Order and whose Party Status Applications were not approved in the Commission's prior orders granting Party Status Applications issued on December 20, 2024, and January 23, 2025. The Commission deferred action on the aforementioned Party Status Applications to provide those individuals additional time to provide information regarding their direct interest in this matter.

It is therefore

ORDERED, that Party Status is hereby granted to all persons and entities listed in Attachment A to this Order.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this 315+ day of January 2025.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned hereby certifies that this document has been served today upon all parties of record in this docket, as listed on the docket service list, electronically or by mail.

By: Dini 1 Fierst

Date: 01/31/2025

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

GARY HANSON, Chairperson

CHRIS NELSON, Commissioner

KRISTIE FIEGEN, Commissioner

Attachment A to Commission Order

31 Acres LLC/Troy Skelton

Aaron A. Johnson

Aaron and Janet Hamilton

Aaron Olson

Allan Johnson

Alvin Mathern

Amanda Rawden

Amber Cope

Amy E. Jones

Andrew Nielson

Ann Cowart

Austin Schmit

Blake Baade

Bob DeSutter

Bossly Real Estate Limited Partnership

Brad Fischbach

Brady Weiszhaar

Brenda Gehm

Brian Brenner

Brian Hansen

Calli Williams

Carl & Ann Cowart Living Trust of 2000

Carlton Job

Carol A. Vavra

Carol A. Wulf

Carolee Kapperman

Chad Schaunaman

Chad Weiszhaar

Charleen Frerichs

Charles Schaunaman

Charlotte A. Liebelt

Charmayne Liebelt

Chayce Lewis

Cheryl Jira

Cheryl Mathern

Cheryl Schmit

Chester Family Living Trust

Clifford L. Wulf

Cole Carda

Colton Taylor

Combs Farm LLC

Craig C. Welbon

Crystal Kapperman

Crystal Page

Cynthia Schock

Dakota Ethanol, LLC

Darleen Nelson

Darlene Schumacher

Daryl Rippentrop

David Bierman

David Close

David J. Rath

David Melland

David Minor

Dawn M. Shepard

Debbie Beck

Deborah Bortnem

Debra Curtis

Dennis D. Haselhorst

Dennis Kapperman

Derek DeRaad

Diana Township, Sanborn Co.

Dixie Melland

Doug Hansen

Douglas Black

Drew DeNeui

Emilee Fullenkamp

Emily DeRaad

Eric & Melissa Miller

Gary A. Fossum

Gary Schauer

Glacial Lakes Energy, LLC

Greg Morgan

Greg Schliinz

Harlan Young

Hartford Area Fire & Rescue

Heidi A. Smith

Heidi Schauer

Herbert L. Flakoll

Holly Lapka

Ingrid Chamales

Jamie Goetz

Jared Bossly

Jarret Haven

Jarrod Haven

Jay Jira

Jeanne Combs

Jeffrey S. Skelton (Estate Larry Martin Skelton)

Jennifer Abels

Jeremy Rawden

Jerri Bierman

Jesse R. Klein

Jesselyn Karlen

Joan M. Weiszhaar

Jolene A. Johnson

Joyce Skelton

JR Farms Inc./Robb Hexum

Judy Fredrichs

Judy L. Wilts

Judy M. Jensen

Justin Karlen

Kari Black

Kathy Jo Serck POA for Lois Jean Rollings

Katy Millington

Ketterling Farm

Kevin Heupel

Kevin Hofer

Kevin Page

Kim A. Klein

Kirstin K. Johnson

Lance Fischbach

Larry Beck

Larry Hansen

Laura DeRaad

Leah M. Peterson

Leah Murray

Letcher Fire Department

Lincoln County, SD

Linda Brown Rippentrop

Linda Dansman-Nichols

Linda Hansen

Linetta Lewis

Londa Hexum

Loryn Gehm

LR Wieseler LLC

Makala DeRaad

Mallory L. Minor

Margaret A. Ellett Living Trust

Marilyn D. Nelson

Mark Brown

Mark Lapka

Marlin E. Lehr

Marty Hofer

Marvin A. Smith

Mia Gehm

Michael J. Klipfel

Michael Morgan

Michael Murray

Michelle Jensen

Mike Hoffman

Nancy Ahlers

Nancy L. Klipfel

Neil E. Kotas

Nicholas Kapperman

Nicholas Mack

Nicole Henjum

NuGen Energy, LLC

Paul Leiseth

Paul M. Vavra

Paula Morgan

Perry Township Davison County

Philip Overby

Pieter Williams

Raymond & Kathleen Restow Trustees

Rebecca Carda

Redfield Energy, LLC

Rick Schulz

Rickard Bortnem

Riley Baade

Ringneck Energy and Feed, LLC

Robert DeBoer

Robert Fischbach

Roger Jones

Roger Schmit

Rory Wieseler

Roy Brownlee

Ryan Spilde

Ryon Smeenk

Sally Schweitzer

Sandra Combs

Sandra J. Ostraat

Sara Steever

Scott Schauer

Sharon Mack

Sharon Telkamp

Sherwood Beek

Shon Morris

Signe Andenas Bobbit Trust

Soobrook Farms Inc.

South Dakota Association of Rural Water Systems

Steven Schauer

Susan M. Lehr

Tammy Heupel

Tamra Haven

Telkamp Family Farm

Terri L. Telkamp

Troy Haselhorst

Tyler Gehm

Upland Hutterian Brethren

Vilhauer Land Limited Partnership

Vincentia M. Flakoll

Wade & Susan Hovland

Wade Weiszhaar

Warner Township