BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

)

}

)

IN THE MATTER OF THE APPICATION BY SCS CARBON TRANSPORT LLC FOR A PERMIT TO CONSTRUCT A CARBON DIOXIDE TRANSMISSION PIPELINE

ORDER GRANTING PARTY STATUS APPLICATIONS

HP24-001

On November 19, 2024, the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission (Commission) received an Application for a Permit to Construct a Carbon Dioxide Transmission Pipeline (Application) from SCS Carbon Transport LLC (Summit or Applicant), a limited liability company owned by Summit Carbon Solutions, LLC. Applicant proposes to construct and operate a carbon dioxide (CO2) transmission pipeline (Project). The Project, which has been named the Midwest Carbon Express pipeline, is approximately 2,500 miles of pipelines for the transportation of CO2 from ethanol plants across five states, including 15 in South Dakota, to underground injection wells in North Dakota. The main line of the proposed route enters South Dakota in Lincoln County at the lowa/South Dakota border and extends in a northwesterly direction, exiting the state at the South Dakota/North Dakota border in McPherson County. Major components and associated facilities planned in South Dakota are expected to include pump stations, main line valves, launcher-receiver sites, and approximately 16 total miles of temporary and permanent access roads as part of the Project. In addition to the main line and other components, the proposed Project includes lateral and trunk lines connecting ethanol plants throughout the eastern part of South Dakota to the main line. The Project also includes approximately two miles of transmission pipeline originating at the POET Bioprocessing plant near Hudson, South Dakota and exiting the state into Iowa in northeast Union County, before ultimately connecting with Summit's pipeline facilities in Iowa. The total proposed length of pipelines through South Dakota is approximately 698 miles and will cross the counties of Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Clark, Codington, Davison, Edmunds, Grant, Hamlin, Hand, Hyde, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, McPherson, Minnehaha, Miner, Sanborn, Spink, Sully, Turner, and Union. The proposed pump stations are planned to be located in Beadle, Edmunds, Lake, Minnehaha, McPherson, and Spink counties.

On November 21, 2024, the Commission issued a Notice of Application; Order for and Notice of Public Input Meeting; Notice of Opportunity to Apply for Party Status and electronically transmitted notice of the filing and the intervention deadline of January 24, 2025, to interested individuals and entities on the Commission's PUC Weekly Filings electronic listserv. The Commission has received Applications for Party Status from a number of persons, including governmental entities. On December 13, 2024, Commission Staff filed Staff's Memorandum Regarding Party Status Applications, and Applicant filed a Response to Staff's Memorandum/Objection to Intervention Petitions. The Commission considered the first round of Party Status Applications on December 17, 2024.

On January 10, 2025, Commission Staff filed Staff's First Supplemental Response to Applications for Party Status along with an Attachment A listing Commission Staff's recommendation for all party status applications submitted on and before January 9, 2025.

The Commission has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to SDCL Chapters 1-26 and 49-41B, specifically 49-41B-17, and ARSD Chapter 20:10:22.

At its regularly scheduled meeting on January 14, 2025, the Commission considered all pending Applications for Party Status filed on or before January 9, 2025. Finding that sufficient interest had been demonstrated, the Commission voted unanimously to grant party status to those individuals and entities listed in Commission Staff's Attachment A filed on January 10, 2025, with the exception of Crystal Page, Kevin Page, Thomas Spisak, Marilyn D. Nelson, Lee Ann Pierce, Bob DeSutter, Leah Murray, Michael Murry, and Roy Brownlee, and to grant Party Status to Connie Burrer, who was not included in the list by Staff. The Commission voted to defer action on the aforementioned Party Status applicants, as well as those not recommended for Party Status as identified in Attachment A in order to allow those persons additional time to provide information regarding their direct interest in this matter.

It is therefore

ORDERED, that Party Status is hereby granted to all persons and entities listed in Attachment A to this Order.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this 23rd day of January 2025.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned hereby certifies that this document has been served today upon all parties of record in this docket, as listed on the docket service list, electronically or by mail.

By Date

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

KRIS 2 Chairperson

GARY HANSON, Commissioner

CHEIS NELSON Commissioner

CHRIS NELSON, Commissioner

Attachment A to Commission Order

Connie Burrer Tim and Valori Basler Daniel R. Paulson **Donald Page** Julie Peek Marilyn Hurley WEB Water Development Association, Inc. Anna Behning Mark Hoffman Kim Hoffman Spink County Joshua Behning Carla J. Dieter Andrew Russo Elizabeth Meyer Craig Schaunaman **David Vinzant** Kathleen Restow Jason VanDenTop Katherine Russo Kirk Schaunaman Kay Lapka Kevin Lapka Scott Sueltz Shelly Bacon/Alan and Rita Brown Trust/Trustee Susan Sueltz Vernon Slack Mike Slack Brian Hoffman, Hoffman Ranch LLC Edmunds County Monica Mever Raymond Restow Rebecca Lueth Rita Brown Roger Meyer **Roschell Vinzant** Roy Meyer Samuel Schaunaman Lynn Hurley David Thorson Darlene Kutzler Deana Larson Kristi Lewis Mark and Marshal Vossler Brad Fiechtner Karin Deeg Wommack Leah DeMent Matt DeMent Phillip Alan Toft Alfred Slaathaug

Diana Page **Douglas Vockrodt** Lisa Telkamp-Castro Pamela Telkamp Leona Telkamp City of Leola Lora Zwart Charley Zwart Sanborn County Commission Rosemary Wagner, Wagner Land Trust Matthew J. Wagner and Kerris S. Wagner Prudence Slaathaug Carla Haan Alvin Haan Trevor Zeck Sharon K. Hansen Gaylord F. Hansen Cassie Bothern Lake County Jillane L. Paulson Patty Juhnke Doug Braun Karoliina Slack Bryan Ahrendt April Ahrendt Kenwood E Olson John Zeck Gail Zeck Katie Kampa Janii White **Richard Irvin King** Jean King Dorothy Olson South Dakota Ethanol Producers Association Corey Granum DEH III, LLC Haugen Investments, LP John E. Ostraat McPherson County Arliss Thompson Martin F. Wagner **Mellette Township** Anne Jo Erdmann Betty J. Strom, Revocable Living Trust Bradly Severson Brent Neiger **Brooke Higgins** Bruce A. DeNeui Bryan J. Bortnem Carol Klein **Casey Higgins** Cassandra Feickert

Catherine A. Hoss Charles J. Johnson Connie Schlepp Dana Bosma Daniel O. Erdmann Dennis M. Jones Gordon Little Heartland Acres LLC Henry A. Dansman Jerome G. Hoffman Joan S. Endres Joan Oligmueller John T. Schutte Joy Hohn Karen Jones, Trustee, Mark & Mary Mack Trust Shafer Real Estate Limited Partnership c/o Kenneth W. Shafer Lance Feickert Launa Feickert Linda Seck Leo Vilhauer LuAnn Severson Marne Neiger MeLisa Elijah, Trustee for Allan V. & Rita Brown Living Trust Melissa R. Schutte Milton/Rhonda Revokable Trust Nancy J. DeNeui Nathan Spilde Orrin Geide P Spear Ranch Inc. **Rick Hofer Rita Brownlee** Rod Hohn Ron Klein Ruthie Vilhauer Sid Feickert Wendy Jo Schulz Holly Hansen Jean A. Kopecky