LEARN ABOUT THE REGISTRY

The Do Not Call Registry was developed in 2003 to give consumers more control over the telemarketing calls coming into their homes. In 2008, a new law enabled numbers placed on the registry to remain on it permanently. Telephone numbers that are disconnected or reassigned to other customers are removed from the registry.

The program is managed and enforced by the Federal Trade Commission on a national level. The South Dakota Public Utilities Commission oversees the registry, including consumer assistance and telemarketer enforcement, from a statewide standpoint.

Do Not Call Registry information for consumers and telemarketers, including frequently asked questions and respective answers, can be found online at SDDoNotCall.com.



PROTECT YOURSELF

Being informed is your best defense against fraudulent, deceptive and unfair business practices that can take place over the phone. Numerous federal and state telemarketing laws are in place to protect consumers by establishing standards of conduct for telemarketing calls.

In South Dakota, telemarketing calls are restricted to weekdays between the hours 9 a.m. and 9 p.m. Weekend calls are not allowed.

Telemarketers must transmit their phone number and, if possible, their name to your caller ID service.

Telemarketers must promptly tell you the identity of the seller or charitable organization on whose behalf the person is soliciting and the purpose of the call.

Within the first 30 seconds of a call, telemarketers must ask if you are interested in hearing the sales presentation and must hang up if you are not.

The telemarketer must terminate the call anytime you express a disinterest in the goods or services offered.

Any verbal agreement made by you to purchase any goods or services from a telemarketer is not valid and legally binding unless the telemarketer receives a signed, written confirmation from you that discloses in full the terms of the sale agreed upon.

Visit the South Dakota Attorney General's website at atg.sd.gov for more consumer protection information.

NATIONAL DO NOT CALL REGISTRY



South Dakota

Public Utilities Commission 500 E. Capitol Ave. Pierre, SD 57501-5070 puc.sd.gov

Printed on recycled paper 05/2025



UNDERSTAND THE EXEMPTIONS

There are a few types of calls not affected by the Do Not Call Registry. That is, you may receive these types of telemarketing calls even with your telephone number listed on the registry.

Calls from or on behalf of political organizations or candidates, charities and telephone surveyors are allowed.

Calls from companies with which you have an existing business relationship are allowed. Additionally, a company may call you for 18 months after you make a purchase or three months after you submit an inquiry or application.

Calls from companies you have given permission to call are allowed.

JOIN THE DO NOT CALL REGISTRY

To decrease the number of telemarketing calls you receive, there are two ways to easily list your telephone number on the Do Not Call Registry.

Register by telephone: Call 1-888-382-1222 or 1-866-290-4236 (TTY) from the phone you want to register. You may register only the number from which you called.

Register online: Visit the Do Not Call website, DoNotCall.gov, to register up to three phone numbers. With this option, you will be required to enter an e-mail address. After submitting your telephone number, you'll receive an immediate e-mail with a link you must click within 72 hours to validate your registration.

Residential and personal cell telephone numbers may be listed on the Do Not Call Registry. Business telephone numbers are not eligible for the registry.

You should notice a decrease in telemarketing calls 31 days after your registration.

Once registered, a telephone number will remain on the Do Not Call Registry until the registration is cancelled or service for the phone number is disconnected. If your number is disconnected and then reconnected, you might need to re-register. You also may need to re-register if you change calling plans or change the billing name on your account. To verify your number is on the registry, go to DoNotCall.gov or call 1-888-382-1222.

REPORT VIOLATIONS

Telemarketers may not place calls to telephone numbers listed on the Do Not Call Registry and are required to check the registry every 31 days for newly enrolled numbers. These companies are also required to register with the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission before placing any telemarketing calls to South Dakotans.

If your telephone number has been listed on the registry for at least 31 days and you receive a call from a telemarketer, you may report the violation to the South Dakota PUC, the Federal Trade Commission or the Federal Communications Commission. Complaints must include the date of the call and the company's name or telephone number.

FILE COMPLAINTS

South Dakota PUC: Complete the complaint form at puc.sd.gov or e-mail PUCConsumerInfo@state.sd.us or write to PUC, 500 E. Capitol Ave., Pierre, SD 57501, or call 605-773-3201.

FTC: Complete a form online at DoNotCall.gov, or call 1-888-382-1222 (TTY: 1-866-290-4236).

FCC: Complete a form online at consumercomplaints.fcc.gov or e-mail FCCInfo@fcc.gov, or call 1-888-225-5322 (TTY: 1-888-835-5322).

Even if your number is listed on the registry, companies you do business with may call you. So may charities, political organizations and telephone surveyors.