DEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

| IN THE MATTER OF THE FILING BY QWEST CORPORATION FOR APPROVAL OF ITS REQUEST TO CONSOLIDATE THE COLMAN AND FLANDREAU RATE CENTERS | ORDER APPROVING CONSOLIDATION OF RATE CENTERS |
|---|---|
| | , TC10-083 |

On June 23, 2010, the Public Utilities Commission (Commission) received a filing from Qwest Corporation (Qwest) for approval to combine centers within a single local calling area. Consolidating the rate centers of Colman and Flandreau into one rate center will provide customers within a larger area the opportunity to move and retain their wireline telephone number. Qwest expects a rate center consolidation would help conserve telephone numbers and provide important customer benefits. On June 24, 2010, the Commission electronically transmitted notice of the filing of the consolidation to interested individuals and entities. The notice stated that any person wishing to intervene had until July 9, 2010, to do so. No petitions to intervene were filed.

At its regularly scheduled meeting on July 27, 2010, the Commission considered whether to approve the request of Qwest to consolidate the Colman and Flandreau rate centers into one rate center. Commission Staff recommended approval.

The Commission has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to SDCL Chapter 49-31. The Commission found that Qwest's request to consolidate the Colman and Flandreau rate centers into one rate center is consistent with the public interest, convenience, and necessity. The Commission unanimously voted to approve the consolidation. It is therefore

ORDERED, that the request of Qwest to consolidate the Colman and Flandreau rate centers into one rate center is approved.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this _____ day of August, 2010.

| CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE | |
|--|--|
| The undersigned hereby certifies that this document has been served today upon all parties of repord in this docket, as listed on the docket service list, electronically. Date: 08 02 10 | |
| (OFFICIAL SEAL) | |

DUSTIN M. JOHNSON, Chairman

STEVE KOLBECK, Commissioner

GARY HANSON, Commissioner