OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

IN THE MATTER OF THE FILING BY QWEST CORPORATION FOR APPROVAL OF ITS REQUEST TO CONSOLIDATE THE SPEARFISH, LEAD, DEADWOOD, AND WHITEWOOD RATE CENTERS

ORDER APPROVING CONSOLIDATION OF RATE CENTERS

TC10-024

On April 26, 2010, Qwest filed with the Public Utilities Commission (Commission) a request for approval to combine rate centers within a single local calling area. Qwest stated that consolidating the rate centers of Spearfish, Lead, Deadwood, and Whitewood into one rate center would provide customers within a larger area the opportunity to move and retain their wireline telephone number. Qwest expects a rate center consolidation would help conserve telephone numbers and provide important customer benefit.

On April 29, 2010, the Commission electronically transmitted notice of the filing of the consolidation to interested individuals and entities. The notice stated that any person wishing to intervene had until May 14, 2010, to do so. No petitions to intervene were filed.

At its May 18, 2010, meeting, the Commission considered whether to approve the request of Qwest to consolidate the Spearfish, Lead, Deadwood, and Whitewood rate centers into one rate center. Commission Staff recommended approval.

The Commission has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to SDCL Chapter 49-31. The Commission found that Qwest's request to consolidate the Spearfish, Lead, Deadwood and Whitewood rate centers into one rate center is consistent with the public interest, convenience, and necessity. The Commission unanimously voted to approve the consolidation. It is therefore

ORDERED, that the request of Qwest to consolidate the Spearfish, Lead, Deadwood, and Whitewood rate centers into one rate center is approved.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this 25th day of May, 2010.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned hereby certifies that this desument has been served today upon all parties of record in this docket, as lated on the docket service list, electronically.

By.

Date: 05 25 10

(OFFICIAL SEAL)

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

DUSTIN M/JOHNSON, Chairman

STÉVE KOLBECK, Commissioner

GARY HANGON, Commissioner