## BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

IN THE MATTER OF THE ESTABLISHMENT OF SWITCHED ACCESS REVENUE REQUIREMENT FOR BRIDGEWATER-CANISTOTA INDEPENDENT TELEPHONE COMPANY ORDER ASSESSING FILING FEE TC98-081

On April 29, 1998, Bridgewater-Canistota Independent Telephone Company (Bridgewater-Canistota) filed for approval by the Public Utilities Commission (Commission) its 1997 Intrastate Switched Access Cost Study.

On April 30, 1998, the Commission electronically transmitted notice of the filing and the intervention deadline of May 15, 1998, to interested individuals and entities.

SDCL 49-31-12.6 authorizes the Commission to require a deposit of up to one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000) in the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission's (SDPUC) regulatory assessment fee fund to defray Commission expenses incident to analyzing and ruling upon this type of filing.

The Commission has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to SDCL 1-26-17.1, 49-1A-9, 49-31-12.6, 49-31-18, 49-31-19 and ARSD 20:10:01:15.02, 20:10:01:15.05, 20:10:27:07 and 20:10:27:08.

On May 28, 1998, at its regularly scheduled meeting, the Commission, pursuant to SDCL 49-31-12.6, unanimously voted to assess Bridgewater-Canistota a \$3,000 filing fee, subject to additional amounts as requested by the Executive Director up to the statutory limit of \$100,000. It is therefore

ORDERED that Bridgewater-Canistota shall deposit an initial assessment of \$3,000 in the SDPUC regulatory assessment fee fund and shall deposit any additional amounts as requested by the Executive Director up to the statutory limit of \$100,000.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this  $_{//}\mathcal{U}$  day of June, 1998.

	CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
	The undersigned hereby certifies that this document has been served today upon all parties of record in this docket, as listed on the docket service list, by facsimile or by first class mail, in properly addressed envelopes, with charges prepaid thereor.
	By Allainer Lallo
	Date:6/12/98
I	(OFFICIAL SEAL)

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

JAMES A. BURG, Chairman

PAM NELSON Commissioner

LASKA SCHOENFELDER, Commissioner