BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

IN THE MATTER OF THE FILING BYORDER GRANTINGCOMMISSION PIPELINE SAFETY STAFFINTERVENTIONREGARDING DAMAGE PREVENTIONPROGRAMSPROGRAMSPS10-002

On June 3, 2010, the Pipeline Safety Staff requested the Commission open a docket and hire experts to determine if damage prevention efforts in South Dakota can be improved. According to a recent PHMSA survey of damage prevention, South Dakota was deficient in the following three damage prevention areas: (1) Employee training; (2) Public education; and (3) Data analysis. Pipeline safety has jurisdiction over gas pipeline operators in South Dakota and is evaluated by PHMSA regarding its damage prevention efforts. South Dakota's program can be improved through complete analysis of deficient areas listed above and determination regarding whether these elements are applicable and appropriate for implementation in South Dakota. Petitions for Intervention have been filed by NorthWestern Corporation (NorthWestern), MidAmerican Energy Company (MidAmerican), Montana-Dakota Utilities Co. (MDU), South Dakota One Call Board (One Call) and South Dakota Intrastate Pipeline Company(SDIPC).

The Commission has jurisdiction in this matter pursuant to SDCL Chapters 1-26 and 49-34A and ARSD 20:10:01:15.05.

At a regularly scheduled meeting of July 7, 2010, the Commission considered this matter. The Commission found that the Petitions to Intervene of NorthWestern, MidAmerican, MDU, One Call and SDIPC demonstrated good cause to grant intervention. It is therefore

ORDERED, that the Petitions to Intervene of NorthWestern, MidAmerican, MDU, One Call and SDIPC are hereby granted.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this _____ day of July, 2010.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE The undersigned hereby certifies that this document has been served today upon all parties of record in this docket, as listed on the docket service list, by facsimile or by first class mail, in properly addressed envelopes, with charges prepaid thereon. luple By: 156 JU/D Date (OFFICIAL SEAL)

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

TIN M. JOHNSON, Chairman

STEVE KOLBECK, Commissioner

GARY HANSON, Commissioner