BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

IN THE MATTER OF THE PETITION OF OTTER TAIL POWER COMPANY FOR APPROVAL OF THE TRANSMISSION COST RECOVERY RIDER RATE ORDER ASSESSING FILING FEE

EL17-048

On November 1, 2017, the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission (Commission) received a petition from Otter Tail Power Company (Otter Tail) for approval of its 2018 Transmission Cost Recovery Rider (TCRR) rate. Otter Tail's TCRR rate has been adjusted to reflect the TCRR revenue requirements for the next recovery period (March 2018 – February 2019). The update includes the tracker balance estimated for the end of the current recovery period so that no over- or under-recovery of TCRR costs occurs. The update also includes details of the Midcontinent Independent System Operator Return on Equity complaints.

On November 2, 2017, the Commission electronically transmitted notice of the filing and the intervention deadline of November 17, 2017, to interested persons and entities on the Commission's PUC Weekly Filings electronic listserv. The Commission has jurisdiction in this matter pursuant to SDCL Chapters 1-26, 49-1A, and 49-34A, particularly SDCL 49-1A-8 and 49-34A-25.1 through 49-34A-25.4.

SDCL 49-1A-8 authorizes the Commission to require a deposit of up to fifty thousand dollars in the Commission's Regulatory Assessment Fee Fund to defray Commission expenses incident to analyzing and ruling upon this type of filing.

At its regularly scheduled meeting on November 21, 2017, the Commission considered this matter. The Commission voted unanimously to assess a filing fee as requested by Commission staff up to the statutory limit of \$50,000.00 to account for actual expenses incurred in review of this filing commencing from the filing date. It is therefore

ORDERED, that Otter Tail shall be assessed a filing fee pursuant to SDCL 49-1A-8 for actual expenses incurred by the Commission commencing from the filing date not to exceed \$50,000.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this Aday of November, 2017.

(OFFICIAL SEAL)

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

KRISTIE FIEGEN, Chairperson

GARY HANSON, Commissioner

CHRIS NELSON, Commissioner