BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

IN THE MATTER OF THE REQUEST FOR APPROVAL OF AN ELECTRIC SERVICE TERRITORY BOUNDARY AGREEMENT BETWEEN WATERTOWN MUNICIPAL UTILITIES AND NORTHWESTERN CORPORATION DBA NORTHWESTERN ENERGY

ORDER GRANTING APPROVAL OF ELECTRIC SERVICE TERRITORY BOUNDARY AGREEMENT

EL17-037

On September 6, 2017, the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission (Commission) received a filing from the Commission's staff (Staff) regarding an Electric Service Territory Boundary Agreement (Agreement) between NorthWestern Corporation dba NorthWestern Energy (NorthWestern) and Watertown Municipal Utilities. This filing is made pursuant to current efforts of the Commission to verify electric territory mapping data for conversion to electronic format and use in a Geographic Information System (GIS) database. With the assistance of the above-referenced utilities, Staff has confirmed the service territory boundary shared by these utilities and has prepared updated mapping information. Staff asks for approval of the Agreement to update official mapping data to properly reflect the service territory boundaries shared by the utilities in this docket.

On September 7, 2017, the Commission electronically transmitted notice of the filing and the intervention deadline of September 22, 2017, to interested individuals and entities on the Commission's PUC Weekly Filings electronic listserv. No petitions to intervene or comments were filed. The Commission has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to SDCL 49-34A, specifically, 49-34A-42, 49-34A-43, and 49-34A-55.

At its regularly scheduled meeting on September 26, 2017, the Commission considered this matter. Staff requested approval of the Agreement in order to update official electric service territory mapping data to accurately reflect current service territories served by the utilities. The Commission voted unanimously to approve the Agreement. It is therefore

ORDERED, that the request for approval of the Agreement to update mapping data to reflect current electric service territory boundaries shared by Watertown Municipal Utilities and NorthWestern is hereby granted.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this ______day of September, 2017.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

KRISTIE FIEGEN, Chairperson

GARY HANSON, Commissioner

CHRIS NELSON, Commissioner