BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

IN THE MATTER OF THE FILING BY NORTHWESTERN CORPORATION DBA NORTHWESTERN ENERGY FOR APPROVAL OF ITS 2017 ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT PLAN AND 2016 ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT REPORT ORDER APPROVING 2016 ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT REPORT AND 2017 ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT PLAN

EL17-016

On March 31, 2017, the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission (Commission) received an application from NorthWestern Corporation dba NorthWestern Energy (NorthWestern) requesting approval of its 2017 Economic Development Proposed Budget and 2016 Economic Development Report in accordance with the Settlement Stipulation in EL14-106.

On April 6, 2017, the Commission electronically transmitted notice of the filing and the intervention deadline of April 21, 2017, to interested individuals and entities on the Commission's PUC Weekly Filings electronic listserv. No petitions to intervene or comments were filed. On April 21, 2017, Northwestern submitted revised Attachments A and B. On May 3, 2017, NorthWestern filed its responses to staff's data request.

The Commission has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to SDCL Chapter 49-34A, specifically, SDCL 49-34A-4 and 49-34A-6.

At its regularly scheduled meeting on May 9, 2017, the Commission considered this matter. After review of the report and plan, the Commission found the activities and contributions set forth therein to be just and reasonable and voted unanimously to approve NorthWestern's 2016 Economic Development Report and the 2017 Economic Development Budget. It is therefore

ORDERED, that NorthWestern's 2016 Economic Development Report and 2017 Economic Development Budget are approved as filed.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this <u></u>day of May, 2017.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
The undersigned hereby certifies that this document has been served today upon all parties of record in this docket, as listed on the docket service list, electronically or by mail.
By: Adam detheck
Date: 5/10/17
(OFFICIAL SEAL)

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

KRISTIE FIÈGEN Chairperson

Commissioner NSON

IRIS NELSON. Commissioner