BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

IN THE MATTER OF THE JOINT REQUEST) ORDER GRANTING FOR AN ELECTRIC SERVICE TERRITORY) APPROVAL OF ELECTRIC BOUNDARY CHANGE BETWEEN CHARLES) SERVICE TERRITORY BOUNDARY CHANGE DOUGLAS ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC.) EL07-016

On April 23, 2007, the Public Utilities Commission (Commission) received a joint filing by Charles Mix Electric Association, Inc. (Charles Mix) and Douglas Electric Cooperative, Inc. (Douglas Electric) for approval of a Service Territory Transfer Agreement between the two companies. Charles Mix agrees to transfer to Douglas Electric one customer at Lot A, W. J. Bertram 1st Addn. in Government Lot 6 within the Northwest Quarter of Section 31, Township 98 North, Range 63 West, Charles Mix County, South Dakota. It is the opinion of both Charles Mix and Douglas Electric that this transfer of service area is in the best interests of both parties, as well as in the public interest.

On May 22, 2007, at its regularly scheduled meeting, the Commission considered the request for approval of the boundary change. Commission Staff recommended approval.

The Commission finds that it has jurisdiction over the matter pursuant to SDCL 49-34A, specifically, 49-34A-4, 49-34A-42, and 49-34A-55. Further, the Commission finds that the boundary change will avoid unnecessary duplication of facilities and help minimize operational challenges. The Commission concludes that the change in the service territory boundary is in the public interest and it shall be granted. As the Commission's final decision in this matter, it is therefore

ORDERED, that the request seeking approval of an electric service territory boundary change between Charles Mix and Douglas Electric is hereby granted.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this __/ 9 th day of June, 2007.

The undersigned hereby certifies that this document has been served today upon all parties of record in this docket, as listed on the docket service list, electronically.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

, / /

Date:

(OFFICIAL SEAL)

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

DUSTIN M. JOHNSON, Chairman

GARY HANSON, Commissioner

STEVE KOLBECK, Commissioner