

Chris Nelson, Chair Kristie Fiegen, Vice Chair Gary Hanson, Commissioner

September 27, 2012

Marlene H. Dortch Office of the Secretary Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, SW Washington, DC 20554

Karen Majcher Vice President, High Cost and Low Income Division Universal Service Administrative Company 2000 L Street, NW, Suite 200 Washington, DC 20036

Re: CC Docket No. 96-45/WC Docket No.10-90, Annual State Certification of Support for Eligible Telecommunications Carriers Pursuant to 47 C.F.R. § 54.314

**PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION** 

500 East Capitol Avenue

Pierre, South Dakota 57501-5070

www.puc.sd.gov

Pursuant to the requirements of 47 C.F.R. § 54.314, the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission (SDPUC) hereby certifies to the Federal Communications Commission and the Universal Service Administrative Company that the telecommunications carriers included in the attached list are eligible to receive federal high-cost support for the program years cited.

The SDPUC certifies for the carriers listed that all federal high-cost support provided to such carriers within South Dakota was used in the preceding calendar year (2011) and will be used in the coming calendar year (2013)<sup>1</sup> only for the provision, maintenance, and upgrading of facilities and services for which the support is intended.<sup>2</sup>

A list of the certified carriers is attached.

Sincerely,

Melson

Chris Nelson Chair

Contact phone # 605-773-3201

Kristie Fiegen Vice Chair

. Hanson

Gary Hanson Commissioner

Capitol Office (605) 773-3201 1-866-757-6031 fax

Grain Warehouse (605) 773-5280 (605) 773-3225 fax

Consumer Hotline 1-800-332-1782

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Please note exception for 2013 for WWC License LLC and RCC Minnesota Inc. as explained in the attached list.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> 47 C.F.R. §54.314(a) ("Certification. States that desire eligible telecommunications carriers to receive support pursuant to the highcost program must file an annual certification with the Administrator and the Commission stating that all federal high-cost support provided to such carriers within that State was used in the preceding calendar year and will be used in the coming calendar year only for the provision, maintenance, and upgrading of facilities and services for which the support is intended. High-cost support shall only be provided to the extent that the State has filed the requisite certification pursuant to this section.").

The SDPUC has granted certification to the following rural incumbent local exchange carriers:

Alliance Communications Cooperative, Inc. (391642) (also includes former Splitrock Properties 391657 and former Hills Telephone Company, Inc. 391405) Beresford Municipal Telephone Company (391649) Chevenne River Sioux Tribe Telephone Authority (391647) Citizens Telecommunications Company of Minnesota, LLC (361123) City of Brookings Municipal Telephone (391650) City of Faith Municipal Telephone Company (391653) Farmers Mutual Telephone Company (361389) Fort Randall Telephone Company (391660) Golden West Telecommunications Cooperative, Inc. (includes Armour Study Area 391640; Golden West Study Area 391659; Kadoka Study Area 391667; Sioux Valley Study Area 391677; Union Study Area 391684; and Vivian Study Area 391686) Interstate Telecommunications Cooperative, Inc. (391654) James Valley Cooperative Telephone Company (391664) Jefferson Telephone Company (391666) Kennebec Telephone Company (391668) Knology Community Telephone, Inc. f/k/a PrairieWave Community Telephone, Inc. (391652) (SPIN # 143002229) Midstate Communications, Inc. (391670) Red River Rural Telephone Association (381631) Roberts County Telephone Cooperative Association and RC Communications, Inc. (391674) RT Communications, Inc. (512251) Santel Communications Cooperative, Inc. (391676) Stockholm-Strandburg Telephone Company d/b/a ITC (391679) TrioTel Communications, Inc. (includes Tri-County Study Area 391682 and McCook Study Area 391669) Valley Telecommunications Cooperative Association, Inc. (391685) Valley Telephone Company (361495) Venture Communications Cooperative (391680) Western Telephone Company (391688) West River Cooperative Telephone Company (391689) West River Telecommunications Cooperative (Mobridge) (391671) The SDPUC has granted certification to the following non-rural incumbent local exchange carrier:

Qwest Corporation d/b/a CenturyLink QC (non-rural incumbent LEC) (395145)

The SDPUC has granted certification to the following competitive eligible telecommunications carriers designated as ETCs in non-rural service areas:

Knology of the Black Hills, LLC (competitive ETC) (399006) Midcontinent Communications (competitive ETC) (399005) Midstate Telecom, Inc. (competitive ETC) (399011) Northern Valley Communications, LLC (competitive ETC) (399017) RC Communications, Inc. d/b/a RC Services (competitive ETC) (399010) SSTELECOM Inc. d/b/a ITC (competitive ETC) (399013) The SDPUC has granted certification to the following competitive eligible telecommunications carriers designated as ETCs in both non-rural service areas and rural service areas:

Brookings Municipal Telephone d/b/a Swiftel Communications (competitive ETC) (399009) James Valley Wireless, LLC (competitive ETC) (399014) Long Lines Wireless, LLC (competitive ETC) (399016) RCC Minnesota, Inc. d/b/a Verizon Wireless (competitive ETC) (399003)<sup>1</sup> WWC License LLC d/b/a Verizon Wireless (399018)<sup>2</sup>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> RCC Minnesota, Inc. d/b/a Verizon Wireless did not request or receive certification for 2013 as it stated that it does not anticipate receiving federal high-cost universal service support in 2013.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> WWC License LLC d/b/a Verizon Wireless did not request or receive certification for 2013 as it stated that it does not anticipate receiving federal high-cost universal service support in 2013.