BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

*

*

*

*

*

IN THE MATTER OF THE APPLICATION BY CROCKER WIND FARM, LLC FOR A PERMIT OF A WIND ENERGY FACILITY AND A 345 KV TRANSMISSION LINE IN CLARK COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, FOR CROCKER WIND FARM

WITHDRAWAL OF PARTY STATUS FOR SPECIFIED INTERVENORS

EL17-055

Intervenors submit this Withdrawal of Party Status for Specified Intervenors.

On February 23, 2018, the Public Utilities Commission ("Commission") granted party status to 64 individuals represented by the undersigned. On March 9, 2018, Crocker Wind Farm, LLC ("Crocker") served written discovery on the Intervenors requesting individualized information from each of the 64 intervenors, including such information as whether he or she owns property in the vicinity of the proposed project; whether he or she resides in the vicinity of the proposed project and, if so, how many months per year; how he or she uses his or her real property; his or her occupation; whether he or she provided any documents during the public input hearing held in this matter and to identify any such documents; and to identify every single communication, oral or written, each individual has had with any local, state, or federal government official or infrastructure owner concerning the proposed project. Such information requested by Crocker is irrelevant to the primary question in this proceeding (i.e., whether Crocker's application satisfies the applicable rules and regulations pertaining to siting permits) and would impose an undue burden on Intervenors. Further certain individuals have reported being harassed and intimidated due to their status as intervenors. Rather than litigate the foregoing issues in this proceeding, certain intervenors seek to withdraw their party status as

intervenors. Accordingly, the following individuals are withdrawing their party status as intervenors in this proceeding:

1. Dave Adam	23. Lisa Stern	45. Bonnie Headley
2. Darci Adam	24. Dana Nordhus	46. Aaron Hemmingsen
3. Nancy Tarbox	25. Lori Nordhus	
4. Jeff Kalo	26. Karen Paulson	47. Connie Hemmingsen
5. Joe Jansen	27. Richard Paulson	
6. Linda Jansen	28. Alan Berns	48. Seth Hemmingsen
7. Jean Stevens	29. LeRoy Monson	49. Nicole Peckham
8. Katrina Kalo	30. Kasey Mehlberg	50. Matt Peckham
9. Robert Ward	31. Kadie Boysen	51. Dean Kirkeby
10. Doug Paulson	32. Donette Dunlavy	52. Michael Bjerke
11. Wendy Crabtree	33. Steve Huber	53. Russell Luvaas
12. Dustin Van Gilder	34. Margaret Nordhus	54. Susan Handke
13. Sheldon Adam	35. Charles Tollefson	55. Kenneth Luvaas
14. Kipp Obermeier	36. Kathy Tollefson	56. Sally Luvaas
15. Kimberly Paulson	37. Tara Huber	57. Amber Tarbox
16. Lowell Wahl	38. Jesse Huber	58. Barbara Erickson
17. Norma Wahl	39. Brad Stevens	59. James Erickson
18. Emma Vig	40. Allen Stern	60. Steve Bjerke
19. Cole Vig	41. Luke Holzwarth	61. Keith Tarbox
20. Kay Ward	42. Jennifer Crabtree	62. Chelsey Granu
21. Troy Mudgett	43. John Quinn	
22. Heather Johannsen	44. Steve Headley	

The two remaining intervenors are Shad Stevens and Gale Paulson.

In conclusion, the above-named 62 intervenors request the Commission remove them as parties in this proceeding.

Dated at Sioux Falls, South Dakota this 21st day of March, 2018.

DAVENPORT, EVANS, HURWITZ & SMITH, L.L.P.

/s/ Reece M. Almond

Reece M. Almond 206 W. 14th Street P.O. Box 1030 Sioux Falls, SD 57101-1030 Phone: (605) 336-2880 Fax: (605) 335-3639 *Attorneys for Intervenors*

Certificate of Service

The undersigned, one of the attorneys for Intervenors, certifies that a true and correct copy of the foregoing was served on March 21, 2018, via email upon the following persons:

Ms. Mollie Smith Fredrikson & Byron, PA Attorneys for Crocker Wind Farm, LLC 200 S. 6th St., Ste. 4000 Minneapolis, MN 55402 <u>msmith@fredlaw.com</u>

Mr. Brett Koenecke Ms. Kara C. Semmler May, Adam, Gerdes & Thompson, LLP Attorneys for Crocker Wind Farm, LLC <u>brett@mayadam.net</u> kcs@mayadam.net

Ms. Kristen Edwards Staff Attorney South Dakota Public Utilities Commission 500 E. Capitol Ave. Pierre, SD 57501 kristen.edwards@state.sd.us

Ms. Amanda Reiss Staff Attorney South Dakota Public Utilities Commission 500 E. Capitol Ave. Pierre, SD 57501 amanda.reiss@state.sd.us

Ms. Patricia Van Gerpen Executive Director South Dakota Public Utilities Commission 500 E. Capitol Ave. Pierre, SD 57501 patty.vangerpen@state.sd.us Mr. Darren Kearney Staff Analyst South Dakota Public Utilities Commission 500 E. Capitol Ave. Pierre, SD 57501 darren.kearney@state.sd.us

Mr. Jon Thurber Staff Analyst South Dakota Public Utilities Commission 500 E. Capitol Ave. Pierre, SD 57501 jon.thurber@state.sd.us

Ms. Melissa Schmit Ms. Betsy Engelking Crocker Wind Farm, LLC Ste. 725 7650 Edinborough Way Edina, MN 55435 <u>melissa@geronimoenergy.com</u> <u>betsy@geronimoenergy.com</u>

Ms. Christine Tarbox Auditor Clark County PO Box 294 Clark, SD 57225 christine.tarbox@state.sd.us

Ms. Bonnie Fosheim Auditor Day County 711 W. First St. Webster, SD 57274 bfosheim@daycounty.org Ms. Theresa Hodges Auditor Spink County 210 E. Seventh Ave. Redfield, SD 57469 spinkcoauditor@nrctv.com

/s/ Reece M. Almond Reece M. Almond