

Kristie Fiegen, Chairperson Gary Hanson, Vice Chairperson Chris Nelson, Commissioner

October 6, 2017

Gary Jaeger Chairperson Deuel County Commission PO Box 616 Clear Lake SD 57226

Larry Jensen Chairman Brookings County Commission 520 Third Street Suite 210 Brookings SD 57006

David Iverson President Deubrook School District 05-6 P.O. Box 346 White SD 57276 South Dakota

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 500 East Capitol Avenue

Pierre, South Dakota 57501-5070 www.puc.sd.gov

Debbe Koenecke Chairperson Deuel School District 19-4 410 5th St West Clear Lake SD 57226

Geoff Andrews Mayor Town of Astoria PO Box 83 Astoria SD 57213

Greg Anderson Mayor Town of Brandt PO Box 164 Brandt SD 57218 Capitol Office (605) 773-3201

Grain Warehouse (605) 773-5280

Consumer Hotline 1-800-332-1782

Email puc@state.sd.us

Brad Knutson Mayor Town of Toronto PO Box 333 Toronto SD 57268

William Swanson Astoria Station Project Manager Otter Tail Power Company 215 S. Cascade St. Fergus Falls MN 56538

RE: EL17-042 - In the Matter of the Application of Otter Tail Power Company for an Energy Conversion Facility Permit for the Construction of a Combustion Turbine Generator and Associated Infrastructure Including a Natural Gas Pipeline and Electric Transmission Line near Astoria, South Dakota

On May 10, 2017, I sent you a letter regarding Otter Tail Power Company's Notification of Intent to Apply for a Permit for an Energy Conversion Facility. Otter Tail Power Company has now filed its Application with reference to this matter with the Public Utilities Commission.

The Application is on file in the Commission's office in the Capitol Building in Pierre and may also be accessed on the Commission's Web site at www.puc.sd.gov under "Commission Actions," "Commission Dockets," "Electric Dockets," "2017 Electric Dockets," "EL17-042."

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

wards

Kristen N. Edwards Staff Attorney

cc - Service list EL17-042