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Energy Controlled Service Tariff



Northern States Power Company, a Minnesota corporation
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401
SOUTH DAKOTA ELECTRIC RATE BOOK - SDPUC NO. 2

ENERGY CONTROLLED SERVICE
RATE CODE E22

Section No. 5
4th Revised Sheet No. 40
Cancelling 3rd Revised Sheet No. 40

AVAILABILITY

Available to any non-residential customer for general service who agrees to control demand to a predetermined
level whenever required by Company. Availability is restricted to customers with a minimum controllable demand
of 50 kW.

RATE
Customer Charge per Month $50.00

Firm Demand Controllable Demand

Service at Secondary Voltage Oct-May Jun-Sep Oct-May Jun-Sep
Demand Charge per Month per kW
On Peak Period Demand $8.05 $11.75 $5.41 $5.41
Off Peak Period Demand in Excess of $2.00 $2.00 $2.00 $2.00
On Peak Period Demand
Energy Charge per kWh
On Peak Period Energy $0.03744 $0.03401
Off Peak Period Energy $0.02297 $0.02177
Control Period Energy -- $0.09200
Energy Charge Credit per Month per kWh
All kWh in Excess of 360 Hours Times the $0.00766

Sum of All On Peak Period Billing Demands,
Not to Exceed 50% of Total kWh

January - December

Voltage Discounts per Month Per kW Per kWh
Primary Voltage $0.70  $0.00109
Transmission Transformed Voltage $1.40  $0.00260
Transmission Voltage $2.00  $0.00280

INTERIM RATE ADJUSTMENT

A 19.23% Interim Rate Surcharge will be applied to rate components specified in the “Interim Rate Surcharge Rider”

to service provided beginning January 1, 2015.

(Continued on Sheet No. 5-41)

Date Filed: 11-12-14 By: David M. Sparby Effective Date: 01-01-15
President and CEO of Northern States Power Company, a Minnesota corporation
Docket No. EL14-058 Order Date: N/A
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Northern States Power Company, a Minnesota corporation
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401
SOUTH DAKOTA ELECTRIC RATE BOOK - SDPUC NO. 2

ENERGY CONTROLLED SERVICE (Continued) Section No. 5
RATE CODE E22 4th Revised Sheet No. 41
Cancelling 3rd Revised Sheet No. 41

FUEL CLAUSE
Bills subject to the adjustment provided for in Fuel Clause Rider.

OTHER RIDERS
Bills are subject to the adjustments provided for in the Transmission Cost Recovery Rider, the Environmental Cost
Recovery Rider, the Demand Side Management Cost Adjustment Factor and the Infrastructure Rider.

LATE PAYMENT CHARGE
A late payment charge of 1% of the unpaid balance will be added to the next month's bill after the date due.

DEFINITION OF PEAK PERIODS

The on peak period is defined as those hours between 9:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. The on peak period occurs
Monday through Friday, except the following holidays: New Year's Day, Good Friday, Memorial Day,
Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day. When a designated holiday occurs on
Saturday, the preceding Friday will be designated a holiday. When a designated holiday occurs on Sunday, the
following Monday will be designated a holiday. The off peak period is defined as all other hours. Definition of on
peak and off peak period is subject to change with change in Company's system operating characteristics.

DETERMINATION OF DEMAND
Actual On Peak Period Demand in kW shall be the greatest 15 minute load for the on peak period during the
billing month.

Adjusted On Peak Period Demand in kW for billing purposes shall be determined by dividing the actual on peak
demand by the power factor expressed in percent but not more than 90%, multiplying the quotient so obtained
by 90%, and rounding to the nearest whole kW.

Actual Off Peak Period Demand in kW shall be the greatest 15 minute load for the off peak period during the
billing month rounded to the nearest whole kW. In no month shall the off peak period demand for billing
purposes be considered as less than the current month's actual off peak period demand in kW.

Off Peak Period Demand in Excess of On Peak Period Demand in kW to be billed shall be determined by
subtracting the billing on peak period demand from the actual off peak period demand only if the off peak period
demand is greater.

Predetermined Demand shall be specified and agreed to by the customer and Company. Customer's adjusted
on peak demand must not exceed the predetermined demand level (PDL) during a control period.

(Continued on Sheet No. 5-42)
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President and CEO of Northern States Power Company, a Minnesota corporation
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Northern States Power Company, a Minnesota corporation
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401
SOUTH DAKOTA ELECTRIC RATE BOOK - SDPUC NO. 2

ENERGY CONTROLLED SERVICE (Continued) Section No. 5
RATE CODE E22 3rd Revised Sheet No. 42
Cancelling 2nd Revised Sheet No. 42

DETERMINATION OF DEMAND (Continued)

Firm Demand for the billing month shall be the lesser of predetermined demand or adjusted on peak period
demand, except in months when customer fails to control load to predetermined demand level when requested
by Company. In these months, firm demand shall be the adjusted on peak period demand established during the
control period.

Controllable Demand shall be the difference between customer's adjusted on peak period demand during the
billing month and the greater of predetermined demand or firm demand, but never less than zero.

Minimum On Peak Demand to be billed each month shall not be less than the current month's adjusted on peak
period demand in kW.

POWER FACTOR
The power factor for the month shall be determined by permanently installed metering equipment.

ANNUAL MINIMUM DEMAND CHARGE
The annual minimum demand charge shall be no less than $56.00 per kW times the predetermined demand,
plus $33.00 per kW times the expected maximum controllable demand.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF SERVICE
1.  Alternating current service is provided at the following nominal voltages:

a. Secondary Voltage: Single or three phase from 208 volts up to but not including 2,400 volts,

b.  Primary Voltage: Three phase from 2,400 volts up to but not including 69,000 volts,

c.  Transmission Transformed Voltage: Three phase from 2,400 volts up to but not including
69,000 volts, where service is provided at the Company's disconnecting means of a distribution
substation transformer, or

d. Transmission Voltage: Three phase at 69,000 volts or higher.

Service voltage available in any given case is dependent upon voltage and capacity of Company lines in
vicinity of customer's premises.

2. Transmission Transformed Service is available only to customers served by an exclusively dedicated

distribution feeder. Customer will be responsible for the cost of all facilities necessary to interconnect at the
Company's disconnecting means of a distribution substation transformer.

(Continued on Sheet No. 5-43)
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Northern States Power Company
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401
SOUTH DAKOTA ELECTRIC RATE BOOK - SDPUC NO. 2

ENERGY CONTROLLED SERVICE (Continued) SectionNo. 5
RATE CODE E22 Original Sheet No. 43

Relocated from SDPUC No. 1 Sheet No. 3-43.2

TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF SERVICE (Continued)

3.

Transmission Service is available at transmission voltage, subject to the terms and conditions
contained in the Company's General Rules and Regulations, Section 5.1(B).

Customer has the responsibility of controlling own load to predetermined demand level.

Customer must allow Company to inspect and approve the load control installation and equipment
provided by customer.

If controlled demand is 10 MW or larger, Company may require customer to:

a. Provide auxiliary contacts for remote indication of position of switch or circuit breaker used to
control demand and wire auxiliary contacts into a connection point designated by Company,

b. Install the remote breaker indication equipment provided by Company, or
Provide a continuous 120 volt AC power source at the connection point for operation of the
Company remote breaker indication equipment.

Company will endeavor to give customer one hour notice of commencement of control period, and as
much additional notice as is practical. However, control period may be commenced without notice
should Company determine such action is necessary.

Failure to Control Charge: An additional charge of $10.00 per kW will apply during each Company
specified control period to the amount by which customer's maximum adjusted demand exceeds their
predetermined demand level and the emergency service energy charge to the energy used during the
control period which is associated with the customers controllable demand. After three such customer
failures to control load to their predetermined demand level, Company reserves the right to increase the
predetermined demand level or remove customer from Energy Controlled Service and apply the
cancellation charge specified in customer's Electric Service Agreement.

The duration and frequency of interruption periods shall be at the discretion of Company. Interruption

periods will normally occur at such times:

a. When Company is required to use oil-fired generation equipment or to purchase power that
results in equivalent production cost,

b. When Company expects system peak load conditions, or

c.  Atsuch other times when, in Company's opinion, the reliability of the system is endangered.

(Continued on Sheet No. 5-44)
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Northern States Power Company, a Minnesota corporation
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401
SOUTH DAKOTA ELECTRIC RATE BOOK - SDPUC NO. 2

ENERGY CONTROLLED SERVICE (Continued) Section No. 5
RATE CODE E22 1st Revised Sheet No. 44

Cancelling Original Sheet No. 44

TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF SERVICE (Continued)

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

Customer shall execute an Electric Service Agreement with Company which will include:

a. A minimum initial five year term of service which includes a one year trial period and a six month
cancellation notice effective after the initial term of service,

The predetermined demand level, which may be revised subject to approval by Company,

An annual minimum demand charge,

Maximum annual hours of interruption (300 hours),

Cancellation charge terms, and

Control period notice.

~®oao0co

Minimum controllable demand during the Company's peak season shall be 50 kW.
Company shall not be liable for any loss or damage caused by or resulting from any interruption of service.

Company will determine, at a service location designated by Company, the number of services supplied.
Customers requesting special facilities will be charged the additional costs incurred for such facilities.

Company will maintain firm demand charge rates for Energy Controlled Service at the General Time of Day
Service level.

Any customer with generating equipment which is operated in parallel with Company must comply with all
requirements associated with parallel operations as specified in the General Rules and Regulations of the

Company.

Any load served by customer generation during Company requested control periods must be served by
Company at all other times.

(Continued on Sheet No. 5-45)
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Northern States Power Company
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401
SOUTH DAKOTA ELECTRIC RATE BOOK - SDPUC NO. 2

ENERGY CONTROLLED SERVICE (Continued) Section No. 5
RATE CODE E22 Original Sheet No. 45
Relocated from SDPUC No. 1 Sheet No. 3-43.3

CONTROL PERIOD ENERGY SERVICE

AVAILABILITY

Available to Energy Controlled Service customers for supply of controllable demand related energy during
control periods. The control period energy charge will apply when the Company is required to use oil-fired
generation equipment or to purchase power that results in equivalent production costs. Control Period
Energy Service will not be available when Company expects system peak load conditions or during system
emergencies.

RATE
The control period energy charge will apply to all controllable demand related energy used during the control
period.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF SERVICE
1. Control Period Energy Service will be available provided such service will not adversely affect firm
service to any customer.

2. Company reserves the right to refuse or control the supply of Control Period Energy Service if its capacity
is not adequate to furnish such service.

3. All other provisions of the Energy Controlled Service rate schedule not in conflict with Control Period
Energy Service shall apply.

4. Company notice of commencement of control period will include notice of availability of Control Period
Energy Service.

Date Filed:  10-15-96 By: Michael J. Hanson Effective Date: 12-16-96
General Manager & Chief Executive
Docket No.  EL96-025 NSP - South Dakota Order Date:  12-16-96
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