EXHIBIT 2— GENERAL DESCRIPTION OF ANTICIPATED AFFECTED AREA

The following information is a general description of the drainage, terrain, farmland and grazing land, and major towns and populations within the anticipated affected area (area) as defined by the SDPUC. Exhibit 2, Figure 1 illustrates the topographic relief, waterbodies (e.g., lakes, creeks), land ownership, major towns, and public highways and roads within the area.

Drainage

Drainage within the area is characterized by intermittent, ephemeral, and perennial creeks that occur throughout the area and the Missouri River (i.e., Lake Oahe), which is located in the western portion of the area and is approximately 8 miles west of the Selby site. The majority of creeks that occur in the western and central portions of the area convey surface water to and are part of the Missouri River watershed. Creeks with the largest watersheds in the central and eastern portions (i.e., east of the Missouri River) of the area include Rieger, Swan, Swan Lake, Blue Blanket, Hiddenwood, Locke, Cane, Olson, and Spring creeks. Creeks with the largest watersheds in the western portion (i.e., west of the Missouri River) of the area include Buffalo, Beaver, Le Beau, Deadman, Claymore, Snake, and Oak creeks. The majority of creeks in the eastern portion of the area occur within localized watersheds in which surface water is conveyed to wetlands and lakes. The largest lakes that occur within the area include Swan and Spring lakes, which are located approximately 15 miles and 13 miles southeast of the Selby site, respectively.

Terrain

The area is located in the Great Plains physiographic province, which includes the Coteau du Missouri and Missouri River Trench physiographic subdivisions of east-central South Dakota. The topographic relief within these subdivisions is a result of episodes of continental glaciation that occurred in during the Pleistocene, 10,000 to 2 million years ago. Subsequent erosion has created the present-day landforms present in the region.

The Coteau du Missouri physiographic subdivision is part of the Missouri Plateau of the Great Plains Province and is separated from the main body of the Missouri Plateau by the Missouri River. Terrain associated with this subdivision occurs within the eastern portion of the area and is characterized by undulating topography with inclusions of lakes and depressions that were formed as a result of recent glaciation. Glacial till and outwash deposits in this subdivision range from 50 to 100 feet thick and primarily consist of sand and gravel.

The Missouri River Trench physiographic region is approximately one mile wide and includes the Missouri River and the surrounding bluffs. Terrain associated with this region occurs in the western portion of the area and is characterized by an open expanse of water associated with the Missouri River (i.e., Lake Oahe) and heavily dissected and eroded hills along the western edge of the Missouri River.

Estimated Percent Farmland and Grazing Land

The area includes approximately 1,282,665 acres of land and 99,500 acres of water associated with the Missouri River, creeks, and drainages. Table 1 shows the acres and percentages of grassland, Prime Farmland, and all areas of Farmland of Statewide Importance.

· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
Farmland or Grazing Land Type	Acres	Percentage of Total
Grassland	261,780	20.40
Prime Farmland	51,619	4.02
Farmland of Statewide Importance	192,388	14.99

 Table 1:

 Farmland and Grazing Land Within the Anticipated Affected Area

In addition to Prime Farmland and Farmland of Statewide Importance, other farmland areas occur within the area. Approximately 60 percent of the area is estimated to be farmland. Grassland covers approximately 20 percent of the area and is primarily utilized for livestock grazing.

Major Towns and Population Affected

Seven counties and 10 towns occur within the area. The counties include Campbell, Corson, Dewey, Potter, Edmunds, McPherson, and Walworth. The area encompasses the entirety of Walworth County and only portions of the other six counties. The total population in the seven counties in 2006 was 26,267 according to the South Dakota Governor's Office of Economic Development. Towns within the area include Mobridge, Selby, Bowdle, Herreid, Hoven, Java, Glenham, Mound City, Akaska, and Lowry. The total population of the 10 towns in 2006 was 5,665 (Table 2).

Selby is the closest town to the Selby site and has a population of 681. Mobridge, the largest city within the area, is approximately 16 miles west of the Selby site and supports a population of 3,231. Situated between Mobridge and the Selby site is the town of Glenham, which has a population of 125.

Towns	2006 Population	
Mobridge	3,231	
Glenham	125	
Selby	681	
Java	179	
Akaska	30	
Lowry	9	
Bowdle	512	
Hoven	431	
Mound City	71	
Herreid	396	
Total	5,665	

 Table 2:

 Towns and Populations Within the Anticipated Affected Area

Source: South Dakota Governor's Office of Economic Development



Exhibit 2, Figure 1

Exhibit 2 Page 4 of 4

Narrative Addressing Compliance with SDCL 49-41B-5.1

Basin Electric will comply with the signage requirement and will provide the date completed to the SDPUC.