## BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

### 

IN THE MATTER OF THE APPLICATION	:	
BY TRANSCANADA KEYSTONE		HP 14-001
PIPELINE, LP FOR A PERMIT UNDER	:	
THE SOUTH DAKOTA ENERGY		
CONVERSION AND TRANSMISSION	•	KEYSTONE'S RESPONSE TO
FACILITIES ACT TO CONSTRUCT THE		APPLICATION OF PARTY
KEYSTONE XL PROJECT	:	STATUS OF THE INTERTRIBAL
		COUNCIL ON UTILITY POLICY
	:	

#### 

On October 20, 2014, The Intertribal Council on Utility Policy ("COUP") filed an application for party status under SDCL § 49-41B-17. From its application, it appears that COUP is concerned about the route of the proposed Keystone XL Pipeline. Because routing is not within the jurisdiction of the Public Utilities Commission, TransCanada Keystone Pipeline, LP ("Keystone") respectfully requests that the application be denied.

The application states that COUP has member tribes in various states, including South Dakota, and that the "planned route" of the proposed pipeline traverses aboriginal lands of a number of its member tribes.<sup>1</sup> The application also states that COUP has participated over the past four years in several processes to address "concerns over the

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Internet research as to COUP's membership demonstrates that four of its tribal members are already petitioners for intervention in this proceeding. {01749979.1}

proposed pipeline route." The application identifies no other interest that COUP has in Keystone's certification request under SDCL § 49-41B-27.<sup>2</sup>

By statute, the Commission lacks jurisdiction over the proposed route of the Keystone XL Pipeline. "Nothing in this chapter is a delegation to the commission of the authority to route a transmission facility . . . ." SDCL § 49-41B-36. Thus, COUP's application does not identify any interest in the proceedings over which the PUC has jurisdiction.

COUP is not a governmental agency in the area where the facility is proposed to be sited under SDCL § 49-41B-17(2), and it is not a nonprofit organization with one of the interests enumerated in § 49-41B-17(3). Its application does not meet the statutory standard for party status, and it identifies no interest within the Commission's jurisdiction. Keystone respectfully requests that the application for party status be denied.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> COUP's website says it was formed in 1994 and provides "... policy analysis and recommendations ... on telecommunications, climate change, WAPA hydropower allocations, energy efficiency, energy planning and renewable energy, with a heavy emphasis on wind energy development...." in Indian country.

Dated this 22<sup>nd</sup> day of October, 2014.

# WOODS, FULLER, SHULTZ & SMITH P.C.

By

William Taylor James E. Moore PO Box 5027 300 South Phillips Avenue, Suite 300 Sioux Falls, SD 57117-5027 Phone (605) 336-3890 Fax (605) 339-3357 Email james.moore@woodsfuller.com bill.taylor@woodsfuller.com Attorneys for Applicant TransCanada

### **CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE**

I hereby certify that on the 22<sup>nd</sup> day of October, 2014, I sent by United States

first-class mail, postage prepaid, or e-mail transmission, a true and correct copy of

Keystone's Response to Application of Party Status of The Intertribal Council on Utility

Policy, to the following:

Patricia Van Gerpen Executive Director South Dakota Public Utilities Commission 500 E. Capitol Avenue Pierre, SD 57501 patty.vangerpen@state.sd.us Kristen Edwards Staff Attorney South Dakota Public Utilities Commission 500 E. Capitol Avenue Pierre, SD 57501 <u>kristen.edwards@state.sd.us</u>

Brian Rounds Staff Analyst South Dakota Public Utilities Commission 500 E. Capitol Avenue Pierre, SD 57501 brian.rounds@state.sd.us

Tony Rogers, Director Rosebud Sioux Tribe - Tribal Utility Commission 153 South Main Street Mission, SD 57555 tuc@rosebudsiouxtribe-nsn.gov

Jane Kleeb 1010 North Denver Avenue Hastings, NE 68901 jane@boldnebraska.org

Terry Frisch Cheryl Frisch 47591 875<sup>th</sup> Road Atkinson, NE 68713 tcfrisch@q.com

Lewis GrassRope PO Box 61 Lower Brule, SD 57548 wisestar8@msn.com

Robert G. Allpress 46165 Badger Road Naper, NE 68755 bobandnan2008@hotmail.com

Amy Schaffer PO Box 114 Louisville, NE 68037 Darren Kearney Staff Analyst South Dakota Public Utilities Commission 500 E. Capitol Avenue Pierre, SD 57501 <u>darren.kearney@state.sd.us</u>

Cindy Myers, R.N. PO Box 104 Stuart, NE 68780 <u>csmyers77@hotmail.com</u>

Byron T. Steskal Diana L. Steskal 707 E. 2<sup>nd</sup> Street Stuart, NE 68780 prairierose@nntc.net

Arthur R. Tanderup 52343 857<sup>th</sup> Road Neligh, NE 68756 atanderu@gmail.com

Carolyn P. Smith 305 N. 3<sup>rd</sup> Street Plainview, NE 68769 peachie-1234@yahoo.com

Jeff Jensen 14376 Laflin Road Newell, SD 57760 jensen@sdplains.com

Louis T. (Tom) Genung 902 E. 7<sup>th</sup> Street Hastings, NE 68901 tg64152@windstream.net

{01749979.1} 01749979.1

Benjamin D. Gotschall 6505 W. Davey Road Raymond, NE 68428 ben@boldnebraska.org

Elizabeth Lone Eagle 593 Bridger/PO Box 160 Howes, SD 57748 <u>bethcbest@gmail.com</u>

John H. Harter 28125 307<sup>th</sup> Avenue Winner, SD 57580 johnharter11@yahoo.com

Peter Capossela Peter Capossela, P.C. PO Box 10643 Eugene, OR 97440 pscapossela@nu-world.com

South Dakota Wildlife Federation PO Box 7075 Pierre, SD 57501 <u>sdwf@mncomm.com</u>

Jerry P. Jones 22584 US Hwy 14 Midland, SD 57552

Debbie J. Trapp 24952 US Hwy 14 Midland, SD 57552 <u>mtdt@goldenwest.net</u>

Douglas Hayes Sierra Club 1650 38<sup>th</sup> St., Suite 102W Boulder, CO 80301 doug.hayes@sierraclub.org

{01749979.1} 01749979.1 Nancy Hildring 6300 West Elm Black Hawk, SD 57718 nhilshat@rapidnet.com

Paul F. Seamans 27893 249<sup>th</sup> Street Draper, SD 57531 jacknife@goldenwest.net

Viola Waln PO Box 937 Rosebud, SD 57570 walnranch@goldenwest.net

Wrexie Lainson Bardaglio 9748 Arden Road Trumansburg, NY 14886 wrexie.bardaglio@gmail.com

Kevin C. Keckler Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe PO Box 590 Eagle Butte, SD 57625 <u>kevinckeckler@yahoo.com</u>

Cody Jones 21648 US Hwy 14/63 Midland, SD 57552

Gena M. Parkhurst 2825 Minnewsta Place Rapid City, SD 57702 gmpgb@hotmail.com

Joye Braun PO Box 484 Eagle Butte, SD 57625 jmbraun57625@gmail.com

Duncan Meisel 20 Jay St., #1010 Brooklyn, NY 11201 <u>duncan@350.org</u>

Bruce Ellison Attorney for Dakota Rural Action 518 6<sup>th</sup> Street #6 Rapid City, SD 57701 <u>belli4law@aol.com</u>

RoxAnn Boettcher 86061 Edgewater Avenue Bassett, NE 68714 boettcherann@abbnebraska.com

Bonny Kilmurry 47798 888 Road Atkinson, NE 68713

Intertribal Council on Utility Policy PO Box 25 Rosebud, SD 57570 bobgough@intertribalCOUP.org

Dallas Goldtooth 38731 Res Hwy 1 Morton, MN 56270 goldtoothdallas@gmail.com The Yankton Sioux Tribe Robert Flying Hawk, Chairman PO Box 1153 Wagner, SD 57380 <u>robertflyinghawk@gmail.com</u> Thomasina Real Bird Attorney for Yankton Sioux Tribe <u>trealbird@ndnlaw.com</u>

Chastity Jewett 1321 Woodridge Drive Rapid City, SD 57701 chasjewett@gmail.com

Bruce Boettcher 86061 Edgewater Avenue Bassett, NE 68714 boettcherann@abbnebraska.com

Ronald Fees 17401 Fox Ridge Road Opal, SD 57758

Tom BK Goldtooth PO Box 485 Bemidji, MN 56619 ien@igc.org

Gary F. Dorr 27853 292<sup>nd</sup> Winner, SD 57580 <u>gfdorr@gmail.com</u>

Rosebud Sioux Tribe RST Tribal Historic Preservation Office RST Sicangu Oyate Land Office Cyril Scott, President PO Box 430 Rosebud, SD 57570 <u>cscott@gwtc.net</u> <u>ejantoine@hotmail.com</u>

William Taylor One of the attorneys for TransCanada