

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

MEADE COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA 1300 Sherman Street STE 212 Sturgis, South Dakota 57785 Tel 605.720.1625 Fax 605.720.1633 www.MeadeCounty.org Alan Aker Chairman Linda Rausch Vice-Chairperson Bob Bertolotto Commissioner Robert Heidgerken Commissioner Galen Niederwerder Commissioner Jerry Derr Commission Assistant

RECEIVED

APR 1 3 2015 SOUTH DAKOTA PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

April 8, 2015

Mr. Chris Nelson, Chairman South Dakota Public Utility Commission Capitol Building - 1st Floor 500 E. Capitol Ave. Pierre, SD 57501-5070

Chairman Nelson:

On behalf of Meade County, South Dakota, we the Board of Meade County Commissioners are writing to express our support of the TransCanada Keystone XL crude oil pipeline. Our personal dealings with our local Keystone XL Pipeline representatives has been excellent and straight-forward on all matters.

The Keystone XL Pipeline project is important to the economic diversity of our community. The support of the crude oil pipeline would enhance the development of our natural resources and ensure domestic development towards sustaining energy independence in our nation.

We respectfully urge you to approve the permit submitted to your office for review on your May 6th agenda.

Best regards,

Yon I Alan Aker, Chairman

FOR THE BOARD