
and local governments assess various taxes on 
service.  These taxes may vary by your location. 
 
State Infrastructure Maintenance Fee  See 
State and Local Taxes 
 
Subscriber Line Charge  See Federal Subscriber 
Line Charge 
 
SLC  See Federal Subscriber Line Charge 
 
Telecommunications Relay Services  See Relay 
Charge 
 
Universal Service Charge  See USF 
 
Universal Service Fund Charge  See USF 
 
Unregulated Services  Local telephone 
companies may offer optional services to their 
customers.  Such services may include Caller ID, 
Call Forwarding, and Inside Wire Repair Plans.  
These services are not required.  Since they are 
optional services, they are not regulated. 
 
USF  (Also called Universal Service Fund Charge, 
Universal Service Charge, Carrier Universal Service 
Charge)  All companies providing telephone service 
between states must contribute to a fund which helps 
to provide affordable access to telephone service to 
consumers with low incomes, consumers living in 
areas where the cost to provide service is extremely 
high, and also to schools, libraries, and rural health 
care providers.  The telephone companies are 
allowed to recover these costs from their customers.  
The companies are also allowed to determine the 
method used to recover the charges.   

Minimum Monthly Fee  Some telephone 
companies may have a minimum amount you must 
spend within a calling plan they offer.  This is not 
the same as a monthly fee.  If the calling plan 
requires that you spend $10 per month but you only 
made $5 worth of calls, the telephone company will 
charge you the difference between the monthly 
minimum and the dollar amount of calls made or in 
this example an additional $5. 
 
National Access Fee  See Carrier Line Charge  
 
Number Portability Service Charge  See Local 
Number Portability 
 
PUC  Public Utilities Commission, State Capitol 
Building, Pierre SD 57501.  Call 800-332-1782 
 
Payphone Access Fee  Payphone service 
providers  must be compensated for toll free calls 
made through payphones.  Most long distance 
companies pass this charge on to your long distance 
bill for calling card calls placed from a payphone or 
toll free calls received by you from a payphone.  
This is not a tax, and can vary from company to 
company.   
 
Presubscribed Line Charge  See Carrier Line 
Charge 
 
Regulatory Related Charge  See Carrier Line 
Charge 
 
Relay Charge   (Also called Telecommunications 
Relay Services, 711 Service Fee)  The South Dakota 
Legislature  has authorized a 15 cent monthly fee to 
help with the cost of providing special equipment for 
deaf, severely hearing impaired, or speech impaired 
individuals to have access to the telephone system.   
 
State and Local Taxes  (Also called Gross 
Receipts Tax Surcharge, State Additional Charges, 
Interstate Tax Surcharge, State Universal Service 
Fund, State Infrastructure Maintenance Fee)  State South Dakota Public Utilities Commission  

500 E Capitol • Pierre SD 57501 
1-800-332-1782 • www.puc.sd.gov 

Understanding 
Your Telephone 

Bill 
 

.....telephone terms  
appearing on your billing 

South Dakota Public Utilities Commission 
500 E Capitol•Pierre SD 57501 

1-800-332-1782 
www.puc.sd.gov 



Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau, 445 
12th St. SW, Washington, DC 20554; or email 
fccinfo@fcc.gov; or call 202-418-7534 or toll-free 
888-225-5322. 
 
FCC Approved Customer Line Charge  See 
Federal Subscriber Line Charge 
 
FCC Primary Carrier 1st Line  See Carrier 
Line Charge 
 
Federal Access Charge  See Federal Subscriber 
Line Charge 
 
Federal Excise Tax  See Federal Tax 
 
FET  See Federal Excise Tax 
 
Federal Tax (Also called FET, Federal Excise 
Tax)  This is a tax which appears on your local AND 
long distance phone bills.  It is a percentage charge 
which all companies charge and remit to the federal 
government.   
 
Federal Subscriber Line Charge (Also called 
Federal Access Charge, Customer Line Charge, 
Interstate Access Charge, Interstate Single Line 
Charge, FCC Approved Customer Line Charge, 
Subscriber Line Charge or SLC) This is a federally 
ordered charge billed by your local telephone 
company used to pay some of the cost the local 
telephone company has when providing a phone line 
to your home or business.  It is designed to help local 
phone companies recover the cost of providing 
“local loops” which refer to telephone cables, wires, 
underground conduit, telephone poles, and other 
equipment connecting you to the telephone network.  
This is not a tax.  It is a charge that is part of the 
price you pay to your local telephone company.  
Neither the FCC, PUC nor any other governmental 
agency receives the Federal Subscriber Line Charge.  
The FCC does place a maximum cap on this charge. 
 
Inside Wire Repair Plan  Consumers are 

Telephone billings cause confusion when 
the terminology includes unfamiliar 
words.  The following is a listing of some 
of the terms you may encounter as you 
study your telephone billing: 
 
211 Service Fee  This fee may be added for access 
to community information and referral services. 
 
711 Service Fee   See Relay Charge.  
 
911 Service Fee  This fee is charged by a local body 
of government to support the cost of emergency 
telephone service.  The telephone company collects 
the fee and remits it to the local body of government 
in which the telephone number is located.  The South 
Dakota Legislature has authorized a maximum fee of 
75 cents per local line. 
 
Carrier Line Charge  (Also called National 
Access Fee, LD Line Charge, Presubscribed Line 
Charge, Regulatory Related Charge, FCC Primary 
Carrier 1st Line) When a consumer selects  long 
distance for their telephone number, the long 
distance company pays the local telephone company 
a fee.  This fee compensates the local telephone 
company for costs associated with the “local loop.”   
The long distance company is allowed to recover 
these costs from their customers.  The method of 
recovering this fee will vary from company to 
company.  Some companies do not charge the fee as 
a separate line item, instead the costs are part of the 
long distance charges.   If you don’t have a long 
distance company selected, the local company may 
charge this fee. 
 
Carrier Universal Service Charge  See USF 
 
Customer Line Charge    See Federal Subscriber 
Line Charge 
 
FCC   Federal Communications Commission.  The 
agency in charge of interstate telecommunications 
service.  For complaints and inquires contact:    

responsible for repair or maintenance of telephone 
wires inside the walls of their residence or business.  
Some local telephone companies offer an optional  
plan in which customers pay a monthly fee to help 
cover any potential repair costs.  (Consumers using 
rented facilities may not want this service.  
Landlords are usually responsible for such repairs.)  
 
Interstate Access Charge  See Federal 
Subscriber Line Charge 
 
Interstate Single Line Charge  See State and 
Local Taxes 
 
LD Line Charge  See Federal Subscriber Line 
Charge 
 
LNP See Local Number Portability 
 
Line-Backer  See Inside Wire Repair Plan 
 
Local Loop  This refers to telephone cables, wires, 
underground conduit, telephone poles, and other 
equipment connecting you to the telephone central 
office. 
 
Local Number Portability (Also called Number 
Portability Service Charge or LNP) This fee allows 
local telephone companies to recover costs 
associated with upgrading their networks to allow 
consumers to retain their existing telephone number 
when switching to a different local telephone 
company or wireless carrier.  Local companies are 
allowed, but not required, to pass on these costs.  
They are allowed to charge this fee for five years.  
This is not a tax; it is a charge that is part of the price 
you pay to your local telephone company.  The rate 
was approved by the FCC. 
 
Plan Fee  Telephone companies offer a variety of 
calling plans.  Some plans may charge a monthly fee 
and offer a lower per minute rate.  Other plans 
charge a higher per minute rate with no plan fees. 
 


