BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

IN THE MATTER OF THE FILING BY CROOKS)ORDER GRANTINGMUNICIPAL GAS FOR A WAIVER OF 49-C.F.R.)WAIVER192.285(A)(2) AND C.F.R. 192.285(C)))PS13-004

On June 10, 2013, the South Dakota Public Utilities Commission (Commission) received a filing from Crooks Municipal Utilities requesting a waiver of 49 CFR 192.285(c) with respect to requalification of persons making plastic joints. The City of Crooks operates Crooks Municipal Utilities, which serves approximately 770 natural gas customers. On June 13, 2013, the Commission electronically transmitted notice of the filing to interested individuals on the Commission's PUC Weekly Filings electronic listserv. No petitions to intervene or comments were filed. On August 7, 2013, Pipeline Safety Staff filed a memorandum recommending conditions on the requalification waiver.

The Commission has jurisdiction in this matter pursuant to SDCL 49-34B, specifically, SDCL 49-34B-24. At its regularly scheduled meeting on August 13, 2013, the Commission considered this matter. The Commission voted unanimously to grant a waiver of 49 CFR 192.285(c) subject to PHMSA approval and the following conditions:

- 1. A person must be re-qualified under the applicable joining procedure at least once each calendar year, at intervals not exceeding fifteen months.
- 2. If a joiner has one joint made under this procedure that is found to be unacceptable by testing under 49 CFR 192.513, that person must be re-qualified under the applicable joining procedure as an initial qualification.

It is therefore

ORDERED, that Crooks Municipal Utilities is granted a waiver of 49 CFR 192.285(c) subject to PHMSA approval and to the above-stated conditions.

Dated at Pierre, South Dakota, this $15^{1/2}$ day of August, 2013.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
The undersigned hereby certifies that this document has been served today upon all parties of record in this docket, as listed on the docket service list, electronically.
By: for Lashley Date D. 16.13
(OFFICIAL SEAL)

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

GARY I

CHRIS NELSON, Commissioner

KRISTIE FIEGEN, Commissioner